She's Starvin' Me…

killian-and-friends-011

Killian, here…

Ever since we came back from that Vet person…she’s been starving me.  I should have listened better but I was scoping out the joint for some treats and trying to get close to that cool little stainless steel thing that purred. 

Flashes of conversation have floated into my mind … “over-weight”, “gained a pound since last visit” “21-1/2 pounds” “needs to get down to 16”  “not to mention diabetes in older cats”

So ever since we got home my bowl isn’t as full!  And, my treats – well, let me tell you – she used to give me 8 or 9 treats at a time and many times a day…now I’m lucky if I get 4 – I know I counted…and only 3 times a day. 

I counted the other morning and looked up at her as if to say -“Ok, Mom, where’s the rest of them…”  and she just shook her head and said no more for now.

She’s starving me…honest…

P.S.  Send treats – the mailman is my friend!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    May 21, 2009 @ 16:07:55

    Poor Killian!

  2. Janet
    May 21, 2009 @ 19:30:13

    My Pollie needs to lose weight as well. While she is eating less, I find that making her exercise more is helpful too! Good luck!

  3. Rachel
    May 21, 2009 @ 20:21:54

    Hello Sara (and Killian, of course),
    I was wondering why I hadn’t heard from you for a while then I clicked on your blog and discovered it’s all changed. I’ve updated my list, so I should be able to keep in touch better now.
    Killian, I understand your distress. It’s not much fun when you can’t have ‘treats’, is it? Keep it up, fine kitty, it’s worth it for your health.

    Take care,
    Rachel

  4. Pat
    May 21, 2009 @ 22:41:37

    Psst, Killian…here’s an idea (but don’t tell her I gave you this advice). You should go with her to HER next doctor appointment and see if she is given any dietary instructions at that time. There are many possibilities with humans, too. There are things like blood pressure, diabetes, cholesterol, weight control, etc. Then YOU can keep HER on track by monitoring what she is allowed to eat and it might make you feel like you are getting revenge on her for starving you like this! What do you think about THAT idea? (Of course, we know she is only doing it because she loves you and wants to keep you healthy for many more years, but I’m sure it is very frustrating for you.)

  5. Erica
    May 21, 2009 @ 22:59:42

    Awww, poor Killian! I once knew a 46 pound cat named Fluffy….came through when I worked at the Humane Society. We ended up adopting him as the “shelter cat” and put him on quite the diet. Oh, was he ever grumpy.

  6. gemma
    May 22, 2009 @ 09:18:06

    Killian,

    It’s harder on your mom than it is on you…we have to resist those big eyes and that pathetic look. It’s for you own good. (Hate those words – I certainly do!)

  7. Dave Daniels
    May 22, 2009 @ 13:25:40

    Killian? Dude? Being a porker is only good if your a pig. It’s NOT a good thing in kitties. Just think, if you get REALLY skinny, she’ll give you even MORE treats later.

  8. Maribeth
    May 23, 2009 @ 09:00:31

    Dear Killian,
    I know you are not fat at all, just fluffy! Poor baby.
    Love
    The Dackels

