Randomness..

~ Still behind…planned to catch up on e-mail yesterday … and didn’t.   So that will get done today…

~ Need to make some rice pudding before the milk goes bad…I just hate to waste stuff.  And, my milk’s date is today.  (I know it never goes bad that particular day…but, I don’t like to take chances!)

~  Did I tell you that I finished that book Winter Games?  The ending kicked bu*t!  Never saw it coming! 

~  I’ve been making popcorn for the last few nights – not the microwave kind – but, the old fashioned way…On Top Of The Stove.  (pan, oil, popcorn kernels, cover, and shake, shake, shake).  I’ll bet there are people who never knew you could make popcorn that way – all they have ever known is the microwave kind (which I don’t like)

~  Need to vacuum the living room and bedroom – Killian decided to turn his scratcher upside down – and now I have bits of it along with tons of catnip all over my floors…

~  Think I will be having some salmon for dinner tonight.  Picked some up yesterday while at the market!

~  Hopefully, I’ll download my camera and have photos for you tomorrow…

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Erica
    Jun 03, 2009 @ 15:09:33

    My son Nick was AMAZED the first time I made popcorn on the stove.

  2. Knit Witch
    Jun 03, 2009 @ 16:21:42

    Funny, I just said to Wayne the other day – do you remember when we used to actually cook this stuff on the stove? Haha!

  3. lisa
    Jun 03, 2009 @ 19:39:36

    That’s how we make popcorn!

    Though a few years back I made some in the microwave. Which is outside the house, in what was once the carport, but is now covered up. Read the instructions, set the thing for 5 minutes, came back inside, (may have been drinking wine), and after a bit, went sniff sniff, what’s that gawdawful smell??

    Yup, I learned corn pops in the microwave in about 2 minutes.

    That thing stunk bad for maybe 3 years.

  4. Stephanie McCane
    Jun 03, 2009 @ 19:39:58

    I’ve been on a popcorn kick too lately. I actually just put my request in for some right as I clicked onto your blog. 🙂

  5. Debby
    Jun 03, 2009 @ 22:40:22

    I am behind too…I think you live your life offline and it’s hard to keep up online!

    We used to make popcorn in the microwave in a plastic bucket with the special bottom. Not on the stove, but not the bagged kind either. And melted butter in a small crock on the stove. Yum. Enjoy yours!

  6. Pat
    Jun 03, 2009 @ 23:12:42

    Make a deal with Killian…if he vacuums up the mess and doesn’t create another one just like it, you will resume giving him some treats.

  7. damocamelia
    Jun 04, 2009 @ 01:55:01

    to use milk AND bread.. I make bread pudding!
    And to get the kids eat it I cook it in muffin size!

  8. Gina
    Jun 04, 2009 @ 10:26:04

    Ohhhhh….popcorn on the stove is the only way to go! My grandpa used to make it that way and it’s the only way I like popcorn! I even went and bought a special pan made just for popping popcorn on the stove…it has a little crank on the handle…I rotate that crank and it turns a spinner inside the pan to keep the popcorn moving so it doesn’t burn on the bottom. Ok, now I’m hungry! ;o)

  9. Teresa aka Tess
    Jun 04, 2009 @ 14:54:44

    Hi, I love making popcorn on the stove. I have even made popcorn over an open fire at a camp-out. Good stuff.
    I found you through the artful penpals blog. I can’t wait till she pairs up people and sends out addresses. I like your blog and enjoyed viewing your musings.
    Tess from http://www.theheartofwords.blogspot.com

