I'm a fan…

Oh, am I!  So You Think You Can Dance is back!  It has to be my favorite show…I usually watch the tryout shows – but, this year I didn’t…I waited for the first show when the Top 20 finalists would be competing. 

You want to know what I love about it – because they are young people who are passionate about dancing and about making a living at it…They aren’t stars who are teamed up with professionals. 

The other thing that makes it special are the choreographers!  Snappy, creative, and exciting dances are created for the couples…and it is amazing to watch kids who have never done a particular style hit the stage and nail it!  At times it can be most emotional – because you can actually feel the power of the dance. 

Plus the music can be edgy – and fun!  And, I get exposed to some different types of music and dance – such as hip hop, bollywood, ballroom, Broadway…all types…

And, then to add even more fun to the mix – we have a group over at Ravelry – and each of us has one male and female – and if that person wins the entire competion…you win yarn!  Each person sends the winner a prize worth $20.00… Cool, huh!  And, who couldn’t use more yarn???

My dancers are:  Evan – who comes from a Broadway type dance background…He was awesome last night!

and, Melissa – who has never danced anything but ballet!  And, she rocked it last night dancing a contemporary dance!

Yea, I’m hooked!!!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pat
    Jun 11, 2009 @ 19:07:00

    I love that show, too……haven’t settled on my favorites yet but I am leaning towards Evan….not so sure yet which gal. I think they all danced about equally as well last night. I do think the comments the judges made to the second couple (after the first dance was SO good) weren’t really fair. Their routine wasn’t the most exciting, but I think their choreography wasn’t so great and that wasn’t THEIR fault. (Just like when the judges make a negative comment about the costumes….which isn’t the fault of the dancers, either.) I wish the results were on earlier than 9, though….because I start to get very sleepy by then. LOL

  2. Stephanie McCane
    Jun 11, 2009 @ 22:26:34

    How fun to have a little competion going on at ravelery, who wouldn’t want to win some yarn! …and yes, it worked now as you can see I’m here! 🙂

  3. Amanda
    Jun 12, 2009 @ 12:27:33

    I haven’t watched that show. Now I’ll have to watch it!

  4. lisa
    Jun 12, 2009 @ 18:19:09

    It’s one I haven’t watched, but I see the appeal. THe commercials show some amazing skills. I figure a season of idol is enough for me!

  5. Bev Adler
    Jun 14, 2009 @ 15:56:30

    I love Brandon, and I hope he makes it bigtime. I’d like to wipe Mia’s nose in it.

