The Simple Woman's Daybook

simple-woman-daybook-small1

FOR TODAY … Monday, June 22, 2009

Outside my window…dull, dreary day with rain in the forecast for most of the week!

I am thinking… Vacation was wonderful – but, it is just as nice to be home!

I am thankful for…  the vision of a group of men who worked and donated land to create a truly beautiful vacation spot such as Acadia National Park!

From the learning rooms… I am learning to appreciate the natural beauty of gardens – even though I am not a gardener!

From the kitchen… Have made the decision to eat out of my freezer and cupboards from now until July 31.  The only grocery shopping will be for milk, bread, fresh fish and fresh produce at the farmers’ market. 

I am wearing… white socks (I know – but my feet are cold), black shorts, and a pink tee-shirt.

I am creating… an area in my home in which enjoy my quilting and knitting.

I am going… to drive with a friend of mine down to Connecticut on Saturday.  She wants company for the drive down and back.

I am reading… Resilience: Reflections on the Burdens and Gifts of Facing Life’s Adversities by Elizabeth Edwards.

I am hoping… that my daughter, Tara Danielle, has a wonderful birthday on Saturday!

I am hearing… in the background the final round coverage of the US Open – yes, I like golf!

Around the house… unpacking, doing vacation laundry, and getting myself back into my routine!

One of my favorite things… Seafood chowder and Popovers at Jordan Pond House!

A few plans for the rest of the week: Planning on staying home all week and getting caught up with some sewing, quilting, knitting, reading, and spending time with Killian.

Here is a picture thought I am sharing…

swharborthurstons4

Tranquil water at Southwest Harbor, Maine

You can participate or read other daybooks  HERE

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rachel
    Jun 22, 2009 @ 15:48:32

    I really enjoy these posts, Sara. They tell so much about you. Beautiful picture of the boats… I am missing the ocean and the East Coast in general right now, and we will not be heading there this summer. sigh.

    Have a great week!
    xo

  2. Pat
    Jun 22, 2009 @ 17:56:29

    I think I need to eat out of our freezer, too….it’s packed and I should not buy anything else to go in there until this is all gone. Lovely harbor picture. I’ve been to Acadia once but it was in an off-season and FREEZING cold (and I don’t do freezing very well). LOL

  3. Grandmother Wren
    Jun 28, 2009 @ 16:13:03

    Thank you for linking your Simple Woman’s Daybook at Grandmother Wren’s last week.
    Please stop by this week and add your link again. I’d love to see this continue throughout the summer, allowing us to stay in touch with other Daybookers during Peggy’s vacation.
    Please keep coming back –
    I look forward to seeing you!

