The Simple Woman's Daybook…

simple-woman-daybook-small1 

FOR TODAY …  June 29, 2009

Outside my window… the sun is trying to peek out but the clouds and rainy weather seem to want to keep it hidden away.

I am thinking… that this weather really makes my asthma flair up and it makes me miserable and so tired.

I am thankful for… that Mother is doing well this week and that her hearing has improved.  The trip to the ENT was well worth it for her!

From the learning rooms… that sleeping in really just messes up my day and makes me feel worse…

From the kitchen… cleaned a bunch of lettuce yesterday and the day before.  A friend gave me a grocery bag full of all  different lettuces fresh picked from the garden – and I ended up with three one-gallon bags full.  Think I’ll share one of the bags with some friends.

I am wearing… a huge comfy white tee-shirt, black shorts, and baby blue socks…

I am creating… a lot of quilt designs in my head…now just to get them translated into fabric!

I am going… to spend the rest of this week at home fixing things up.  (see Around the House)

I am reading… James Patterson…just finished The Thomas Berryman Number; Season of the Machete is being read now; with See How They Run waiting in the wings…

I am hoping… that this weather clears up – even if for just a couple of days so that my sinuses and asthma will give me a break!

I am hearing… the fan running; the tv in the background; and Killian snoring behind me on the couch.

Around the house…  the rod in my closet came apart from the wall – so, my clothes are sort of hanging.  I need to take the clothes out; call maintenance for them to put the rod back up; and then go through the clothes for things that NO LONGER fit and donate them to the domestic violence store.  I tend to take very good care of my clothes – so they last forever…so, the things I give away will be in good condition.

One of my favorite things… was being able to go to dinner with my friend, Elizabeth.  We had dinner at the new restaurant in town…The Common Man…it was wonderful!!!  I ate  cheese and crackers for an appetizer; pan seared Rainbow Trout; scallion and cheese mashed potatoes; the best bread; and chocolate cake for dessert! 

A few plans for the rest of the week:  Clean out the closet; go through a box or two of books and take the ones I don’t want to the library for them to sell; and, of course, spend a little time with knitting needles in my hand or at the sewing machine..

Here is picture thought I am sharing…

acadiaottercliffs1

The peaceful waters off of Acadia National Park…

Grandmother Wren is hosting The Simple Woman’s Daybook this summer while Peggy takes a vacation.

You can participate or read more daybooks  here!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pat
    Jun 29, 2009 @ 17:17:13

    I have the same “issue” with clothes….care well for them….they last a long time (but don’t always fit me after awhile…..I change size…not THEM….*sigh*)……and then I end up with too many for the closet. I need to do that soon, too…..clean out the closet!

  2. Stephanie McCane
    Jun 29, 2009 @ 19:40:30

    Sorry to hear you are sick too. It’s not fun to feel so yucky in the summer!

  3. Ce
    Jun 29, 2009 @ 21:04:56

    Ugh! So sorry your asthma and sinuses are acting up. That is no fun at all.

    I was drooling while reading about your dinner out and what you ate! Yum-yum!

    Really like your photo–very relaxing to gaze upon! Glad to find you again too, Sara! Have a wonderful week.

