The Simple Woman's Daybook…

simple-woman-daybook-small1  

FOR TODAY:  July 6, 2009

Outside my window… the sun is shining brightly.  It feels wonderful and I am not even going to complain that it is hot…because it is just so great to see it after June being so rainy.

I am thinking… about the concert yesterday…and how much I enjoyed sitting in the studio of a great artist feeling the breeze on my face and listening to enchanting music.  How have I missed not going for the last five years that I have lived here!

I am thankful for… everything that I have…family, friends, pets, financial stability, a home, food in my pantry – just everything!

From the learning rooms… that negativity just has no place in my life!  And, I am doing what I can to eliminate it!

From the kitchen… tonight will be leftovers from Saturday…half a huge hamburger and homemade mac and cheese.

I am wearing… the usual outfit of the day – black shorts, blue tee-shirt, and socks. 

I am creating… a place where I am happy and content…where I can make my own dreams come true!

I am going… to go to each of the concerts put on by Saint-Gaudens Historic Site.  It is such a pleasant way to spend three hours on a Sunday…and to get to hear beautiful music in person.

I am reading… Always Looking Up:  The Adventures of an Incurable Optimist by Michael J. Fox.  It is pretty good. 

I am hoping… that the sun continues to shine and that we have lovely weather for the rest of the summer.

I am hearing… the sounds of the fan, children laughing outside, and quiet.

Around the house… need to fix the closet – still haven’t taken all the clothes out in order for maintenance to come and fix the bar that fell.  I think it will be something I do this week.

One of my favorite things… was walking in the gardens yesterday at Saint-Gaudens…they have beautiful gardens with places to sit.  One of my friends volunteers there and she showed me the cutting gardens.  It is from this garden that every Friday flowers are cut and arrangements are made for every room in the house – and in some of the museum rooms too.

A few plans for the rest of the week:  visit Mother; pay bills; clean the house; and do laundry.  It seems that the laundry breeds. 

Here is picture thought I am sharing…

thuyagarden14

Flowers from the Thuya Garden in Northeast Harbor, Maine.

Grandmother Wren is hosting The Simple Woman’s Daybook this summer while Peggy takes a vacation.

You can participate or read more daybooks here!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pat
    Jul 06, 2009 @ 16:59:08

    Oh, yes…do go to the concerts on a regular basis. Are they only held in the summer?

  2. Snap
    Jul 06, 2009 @ 17:22:11

    The concerts and the gardens sound wonderful. It would be hard to stay away! I’ve heard wonderful things about the Fox book and with your comment — more!

  3. Julie
    Jul 06, 2009 @ 19:35:14

    As I was floating in the pool today, I kept looking up at the beautiful blue sky without a single cloud in sight and thinking how wonderful it is to finally have such an awesome sunny day.

