Maine: Day Four…

Acadia National Park was the very first park that I have visited that I took advantage of the Ranger-led programs…I don’t know why – but I just didn’t…

Day Four started at the Abbe Museum/Acadia Wild Gardens with a Ranger telling us all about the animals who inhabit Acadia.  Actually – it was a lot more interactive than that…she handed us pelts and we had to figure out what they were and how they protected themselves.

acadiaabbearea

Learned that there are no snakes in Acadia!  I have to say that really made my day – because it meant that I could walk around secure in the knowledge that some snake was not going to sneak up on me and bite me!  I have no great love for snakes…

Also there are no moose in Acadia – I found that one to be rather interesting as I thought there would be…but no.  They have been known to swim over but they don’t stay. 

Deer, beaver, hares, coyotes, and something else that I can’t remember plus lots of birds make Acadia home.  I kept looking and only saw one deer when I was on the carriage ride.  They only come out at dawn and dusk…

acadiaabbeblog

The Abbe Museum had a lot of artifacts from the Indian tribes that made Acadia home…I enjoyed looking at the dioramas that showed their lives in each of the seasons.  The museum was small – but there is a larger one in downtown Bar Harbor…but, didn’t go.

acadia25blog

The Wild Gardens of Acadia was so fun and so interesting.  The space is divided showing the different areas of Acadia and what would grow there…very fascinating to see what grows in the meadow as opposed to the swampy area…It is sponsored by the Garden Club.  The area around was lovely and had several trails leading off into the woods…walked a bit on them…

acadia26

Then back to the Park Loop Road and a chance to ride over this beautiful rock bridge…water on one side and woods on the other…what could be better…

Join me for Day Five in the next couple of days…

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stephanie
    Jul 08, 2009 @ 19:01:20

    Wow no snakes, I’m surprised at that but happily surprised as well!

  2. ali
    Jul 08, 2009 @ 19:22:21

    Looks like such a wonderful time!

  3. Pat
    Jul 08, 2009 @ 19:54:30

    I’d be happy about no snakes, too. I was thinking they might have bears there, but I guess not. Lovely photos, once again. Thanks for sharing them!

  4. Julie
    Jul 09, 2009 @ 06:46:31

    I wish I could say that no snakes called my yard home, but I’ve seen three of them all at once. A couple I’ve even seen up close and personal – just inches from my bare feet. ICK!

    I’m surprised that there are no Moose in Acadia. Interesting.

