A Finished Object…

pillowcase

 Can you believe it???  I actually have a finished project!  A beautiful pillowcase for my bed! 

Whenever I buy linens – I only get one pillowcase in the set of linens…but, I use two or three pillows!  So, what’s a girl to do – make herself another pillowcase that is usually prettier, better made, and stronger than what the stores sell.  I use 100% cotton from the quilt shop…this is the first – I am thinking these might make great Christmas gifts…only I would make a pair…or do something funky!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stephanie
    Jul 18, 2009 @ 07:29:53

    Very pretty, love the fabrics and colors. They would make wonderful christmas gifts! My sister in law did that for Christmas last year, we all got a set of handmade pillow cases tied up wth really pretty ribbon, I loved it!

  2. Ming the Merciless
    Jul 18, 2009 @ 08:16:13

    That is a pretty pillow case but yeah, you need a couple more of those made. 🙂

    I moved to Bangor last week. I am dying to visit Acadia but it will have to wait till later this month. Hopefully, I can get some great photos there and post them.

    Are you a Mainer?

  3. Rachel
    Jul 18, 2009 @ 14:03:16

    Very nice. That’s a great gift idea, especially if you made a pair of them. These funky pillowcases seem to be all the rage lately.

  4. Pat
    Jul 18, 2009 @ 19:37:12

    It looks GREAT!!! Which method did you use…that sausage method that had the tutorial Gene gave me? I was thinking, too, what a nice gift it would be to make pillowcases for all the seasons and holidays for a close relative for Christmas (or for a shower gift for a close relative).

  5. Rhonda StitchingNut
    Jul 19, 2009 @ 12:58:15

    Love the pillowcase. I made a pair once to go with the Quilt I made for my sister’s wedding/1st anniversary gift. The hemmed boarder matched the quilt. She loved ’em of course.

  6. lisa
    Jul 19, 2009 @ 18:13:03

    I think that’s a great idea!

  7. Julie
    Jul 20, 2009 @ 06:58:07

    That’s much prettier than any pillowcase you could buy!

  8. Janet
    Jul 20, 2009 @ 07:19:42

    very pretty!!!

