My Corner of The World…

My Corner of the World includes the Clough Center located next to New London Hospital in New London, New Hampshire.  It is my mother’s home.  I know I don’t talk a lot about where Mother resides – but since I am there often – it certainly is part of my world. 

The trip to the facility takes 45 minutes each way…and the ride is beautiful.  I pass several lakes, a marsh, and go through several small towns.  Each season brings delightful views and is a banquet for the senses.

The facility is beautiful with paintings and fresh flowers in the common areas.  The staff is extremely caring.  There is a doctor in the facility on a daily basis – there to handle any problem.  Activities are abundant…each day has anywhere from 3 – 4 different activities…including bingo, bowling (table), crafts, musicians, church services and animals who come to visit.

Meals are provided in a beautiful dining room complete with linen table clothes and fresh flowers on the tables and background music – provided by cds or a live performer.  The chef is a graduate of  the Culinary Arts Program at the University of Southern New Hampshire and the staff have years of experience in healthcare and at some of the finest restaurants.  They also have a wonder full-time registered dietitian who has answered a tremendous amount of questions for me – and who has helped make sure that Mother has food that she loves including dessert. Family is welcome and encouraged to dine with their loved ones.

sparoom

One of my favorites things that is offered is the SPA Program…(Specialized Personalized Attention).  The photo above is part of the SPA room – but, I think the wording on the website explains it best:

The concept involves the creation of a multi-sensory environment (including lighting, soft music and familiar scents) designed to stimulate the primary senses of touch, taste, sight, sound and smell. The aims of Snoezelen are to provide:

•  a stimulating environment to heighten awareness
•  an interesting atmosphere to encourage participants to explore their environment
•  an environment offering security, allowing participants mental and physical relaxation; and
•  an unrestrained atmosphere where participants may enjoy themselves.

 Mother enjoys going there – and the Activities director tells me she falls asleep…which I guess shows she is is comfortable and content.

I am very thankful to be able to have my mother is a facility where she is so very well cared for…it makes it a lot easier to sleep at night!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pat
    Jul 19, 2009 @ 20:50:51

    None of us likes to see our parents lose their independence, but we also know it’s a fact of life if a person lives to a ripe, old age. I am grateful that you are able to have your mother in such a wonderful place as the Clough Center. This sounds like the best possible environment any of us could hope to have for our parents (or ourselves when that time comes that we need around-the-clock superivory care). Thank you for letting us know about your mom’s home.

  2. Pat
    Jul 19, 2009 @ 20:51:37

    Sorry for the typo in my last post….meant to say supervisory, but I’m sure you realized that.

  3. Rachel
    Jul 19, 2009 @ 22:09:49

    You and your mother are both very lucky to have found such a wonderful place. She is well cared for and you have peace of mind. Thanks for taking us to visit!

  4. Rhonda StitchingNut
    Jul 20, 2009 @ 06:50:59

    It’s good to know that the place that cares for your Mom is such a wonderful place. I wish they could all be that way and no one would have to agonize of the decision to place a parent (when they can no longer safely care for themselves) to get proper care. I know what it’s like when I was faced with the fact that I MIGHT have had to do that with my own husband. Thankfully, Bill improved but his life could have gone the other way. I pray I’m never faced with the decision again … but if I am, may I find what you did … peace of mind.

  5. Janet
    Jul 20, 2009 @ 07:18:57

    amen, Sara!

