The Simple Woman's Daybook…

simple-woman-daybook-small1

FOR TODAY … July 20, 2009

Outside my window… blue skies, some pretty white clouds, and quiet.

I am thinking… what a fun week-end I had!  Going out with friends Saturday was really nice.

I am thankful for… people who are trained in relieving pain – such as the massage therapist who was doing free 20 minute chair massages and the woman doing reconnective Reiki at the store we visited Saturday…

From the learning rooms… I am learning that I need to take better care of myself!  This includes eating better and doing more things outside.

From the kitchen… It seems that I am not eating enough…I have been eating one meal a day and snacking – well, that is not cutting it anymore…I need to eat a morning meal and an evening meal for sure!  I can snack at lunch time – with healthy snacks (like cheese and crackers; yougart; peanut butter and jelly sandwiches; etc)

I am wearing… the standard housekeeping garb of the day – black shorts, white socks (hey, I’m not leaving the house) and a white tee-shirt with a funny rhino on the front!

I am creating… pillowcases for Christmas gifts!  They are fun to make!

I am going… to get my hair cut tomorrow!  It has really gotten long and it doesn’t look great.  It gets to a certain length – and I just go nuts and can’t wait to get it cut!

I am reading… The Midnight Club by James Patterson.  I really have taken a liking to his books…

I am hoping… that the weather stays nice for the rest of the summer.  I don’t mind it raining – but, it would be nice to see the sun out like it has been for a couple of days now.

I am hearing… absolutely nothing…total silence except for my keyboard as I type.  It is kind of nice.

Around the house…  the usual Monday – dusting, doing floors, vacuuming, and washing clothes!

One of my favorite things… chocolate cake with lots of chocolate icing…had a piece of it last night.

A few plans for the rest of the week: trip to the library, see mother, get some thank you cards done, and just hang out!

Here is picture thought I am sharing…

pillowcase1

Grandmother Wren is hosting The Simple Woman’s Daybook this summer while Peggy takes a vacation.

You can participate or read more daybooks here!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pat
    Jul 20, 2009 @ 19:32:24

    I need to take better care of myself now, too. I can’t seem to get started, though. *sigh*

  2. Stephanie
    Jul 20, 2009 @ 19:34:58

    It’s funny, as I read down your post my thoughts were: I could use a massage, I snack a lot and only eat one meal, I should make some pillow cases, and now I want a piece of chocolate cake! Glad you had a nice weekend, hopefully the week will be just as good! 🙂

  3. Dave Daniels
    Jul 21, 2009 @ 07:18:23

    Beautiful pillowcase. I like your attention to color and detail. (I’ve made pillowcases before, but they were just plain ol’ fabric, nothing beautiful like this.)

  4. Grandmother Wren
    Jul 22, 2009 @ 22:44:40

    Pillowcases will make wonderful gifts – that’s a great idea. Have you seen the new projects (or maybe they aren’t so new, maybe I just found them….) for repurposing pillowcases into things like aprons and little girl’s dresses? Those are really cool too.

    Please do follow through on taking care of yourself – it’s so easy to neglect our bodies while we tend to everything else.

