The Simple Woman's Daybook…

simple-woman-daybook-small1

FOR TODAY … August 3, 2009

Outside my window… the sun is shining!  Skies are beautiful and blue! 

I am thinking… what a great week-end I had including time to visit with mother!

I am thankful for… friends who enjoy the same types of creative pursuits!

From the learning rooms… I am learning that it is okay to skip a day of posting on my blog! 

From the kitchen… At the market on Saturday, I was asking the fish monger how to cook some rainbow trout.  This gentleman next to me – leaned over and said – “First you slice some lemon and put in into it’s gut, then you add some walnuts and at a pat of butter.  Wrap it up in tin foil and bake for 15 minutes at 400 degrees!  That’s the Scottish way”.  He had the most wonderful accent!  I will be fixing some rainbow trout that way this week…I’ll let you know how it turns out.

I am wearing… how did you guess!  Pink tee-shirt; green shorts; no shoes and socks!

I am creating… more blocks for a quilt that I want to make…and knitting a baby blanket.

I am going… to run some errands tomorrow…library, bank, etc.

I am reading… Cradle and All by James Patterson

I am hoping… that I can get this baby blanket finished soon – the baby is already here!

I am hearing… the voice of Tyler Florence talking about making some wonder dish with garlic, oregano, and red pepper…sounds like I’ll have to go get the recipe!

Around the house… maintenance dropped by today to fix the thing in the toilet tank that lifts so the water will flush ( you can tell – I’m really handy around the house! NOT!)

One of my favorite things… being inspired by attending a wonderful quilt show!  The quilt show yesterday had over 400 quilts!!!

A few plans for the rest of the week: pay bills; wash clothes; maybe bake something; go pick flowers!

Here is picture thought I am sharing…

swharborthurstons4

Peaceful Water!

Grandmother Wren is hosting The Simple Woman’s Daybook this summer while Peggy takes a vacation.

You can participate or read more daybooks here!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pat
    Aug 03, 2009 @ 19:05:16

    Lovely harbor picture! Will you be showing photos of any of the quilts you saw or didn’t you take any pictures there?

  2. Debby
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 11:58:00

    I love the photo of those boats! It sounds like you are having a lovely week. I hope your new recipes work out!

