The Simple Woman's Daybook…

simple-woman-daybook-small1

FOR TODAY …  August 10, 2009

Outside my window… the sky is a little gray with some clouds – but, there is a wonderful breeze blowing!    There are rays of sunshine – and I think it is going to be a beautiful day!

I am thinking… that I really had a productive week-end.  A lot of the things on my desk have been cleared away! 

I am thankful for… the people who own the Print Shop here in town for selling me a light box for such a reasonable price.  It is actually one of those machines that you put x-rays up to to look at…it is rather old but it works!!!  Now I can trace embroidery patterns onto my fabrics without killing my arms – by hanging things up on the windows!!!

From the learning rooms… Am learning that it is okay to let go of things…and am in the process of decluttering.  A box of books went to the library for them to sell at their annual sale…and will be going through quilting and knitting patterns that I know I will never use and passing those on to someone who will.

From the kitchen… made the best pasta dish on Wednesday night…Used some homemade pasta that I bought at the farmer’s market.  Basically it was just a couple of chopped tomatoes, minced garlic clove, a couple tablespoons of olive oil, a tablespoon of fresh basil, and 3/4 cups shredded cheese (Asiago, Romano, Parm)…mixed all that up – and then added the cooked pasta!  It turned out so good – and was refreshing…especially on a hot day!

I am wearing… purple shorts, tee-shirt and pink socks!  The normal “hang out at home” outfit.

I am creating… actually, I am working on some UFO (unfinished objects) that have been around here for a while.  Am especially excited about finishing a quilt top that I began at my quilting retreat last October!  Haven’t touched it since I came home.

I am going… take a class tomorrow at one of the local yarn shops.  The class is on Chart reading…since my to make list includes several shawls that the patterns are done in charts (not words) – and I have no clue what I am doing.  This class promises to teach me how to read those little guys…

I am reading… Just finished:  Might As Well Laugh About It Now by Marie Osmond and A Lion Called Christian by Anthony Bourke and John Rendall.  Haven’t decided what to start reading tonight…

I am hoping… that I have nice weather for Saturday as I want to go to the Fiber Festival in Newbury…the 2-1/2 hour drive can be miserable in the rain…

I am hearing… the sound of Emeril’s voice as he makes Breakfast for Dinner recipes.  Do you ever eat breakfast for dinner…I do…and I love it…

Around the house… Almost done with cleaning off my desk and getting old mail answered and some cards off to a couple of friends; the house has been vacuumed and looks great; and today I intend to finish my laundry.  Can’t seem to get away from Monday being laundry day – an old throwback from my growing up years!

One of my favorite things… Saturn peaches!  I am on the hunt for them…oh, picked some up at the Farmer’s Market over in Woodstock…okay – I got three!  Should have picked up three dozen!  Oh, they were so sweet!  Now I am craving more!

A few plans for the rest of the week: visiting with mother; sewing; knitting; and going to Fiber Festival…

Here is picture thought I am sharing…

lotlquiltshow9blog

Inspiration

 

 

 

You can participate or read more daybooks here!

 

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pat
    Aug 10, 2009 @ 12:25:39

    What a pretty, colorful quilt. I am trying to work on some unfinished things now, too.

  2. Ming the Merciless
    Aug 10, 2009 @ 13:34:19

    I haven’t read a good book in ages. I have to read for work so I rarely want to read any more during my leisure hours.

    Love the colors on the quilt.

  3. Grandmother Wren
    Aug 10, 2009 @ 15:19:15

    Super Daybook – I loved it! Lightboxes, yarn shops, letting-go sessions – this was a great read.
    I hope you do learn how to knit from a chart at your class – I haven’t been able to master that yet – maybe a class would help…

  4. Susan
    Aug 10, 2009 @ 18:45:15

    I can knit rather simple lace patterns (like for socks) from a chart but I get really confused when stitches disappear and there’s the blank spot on the chart.

  5. Stephanie
    Aug 10, 2009 @ 19:38:17

    It is so hot here today, I filled Jackson’s pool with icy cold water from the hose and then only 2 hours later when we decided to go out and play it was warm, too warm! Sounds like you’re having a beautiful day!! The fiber festival sounds cool, take photos! 🙂

  6. colleen
    Aug 11, 2009 @ 08:35:32

    You wear colorful house clothes! Got a lot of UFO here too and dust that lands on them.

