Baby Shower…

Yesterday was the baby shower for Lars.  He is adorable!  And, his parents Chris and Mike are just great people.  Not to mention that he has been born into a large and loving extended family.

lars2

I mentioned several times that I was working on a baby gift…and I finally finished it.  Actually, I started out with two different gifts – but, the more I knit on the one project – the less I felt it was the right one…So, this is what I made for Lars:

larsgift

It is a little quilt – hand quilted around each of the fish…this is the second quilt I have done like this…and have enjoyed making them.

larsgift1

This photo shows the backing and maybe a bit of detail on the fish…

shower

There was yummy food…

shower1

beautiful flowers…

shower2

Food, flowers and guests…

shower6

Mommy Chris opening up presents…

shower7

And, a special lullaby played on a harp and sung by one of Chris’ friends.

It was a lovely afternoon spent with friends and getting to share in the birth of such a special little boy!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stephanie
    Aug 30, 2009 @ 19:13:35

    What a wonderful shower!!! The harp player is such a sweet and lovely idea. I love the quilt you made and the hand stitching around the fish is such a great idea!

  2. Pat
    Aug 30, 2009 @ 20:41:00

    I love that quilt you made. The harp player was a nice touch……hope she didn’t play the lullaby after you all finished eating that yummy food…or else all you adults might have fallen asleep and not the baby! LOL

  3. Stacy
    Aug 30, 2009 @ 22:58:41

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and wishing me a happy birthday, Sara. It’s nice to meet a fellow knitter. I love the fish quilt you handstitched. The shower looks lovely and the harp must have been such a special treat.

  4. Julie
    Aug 31, 2009 @ 07:07:16

    What a beautiful quilt!

  5. Sarah
    Aug 31, 2009 @ 16:29:14

    How lovely!
    I have started on several projects for a shower and think I have stumbled upon the right one. Funny how that works!

  6. colleen
    Aug 31, 2009 @ 17:31:17

    My sister Kathy made a quilt for my son Dylan when he was born and it was similiar to the one you made. He’s 27 now!

  7. Rachel
    Aug 31, 2009 @ 23:51:45

    What a nice baby shower! With a harpist? Wow!

    Beautiful job on the baby quilt. Lars will love it.

  8. tammy
    Sep 01, 2009 @ 16:23:45

    adorable baby quilt. love baby showers, esp if the baby is already here, so fun to get to hold them and see all the adorable stuff for baby.

