The Simple Woman's Daybook…

simple-woman-daybook-small1

FOR TODAY …  August 31, 2009

Outside my window… It is dark…mainly because it is still night time and I am not tired yet.  The weather man has assured me that we are going to have lovely cool days for the next few days and I am very happy to hear that.

I am thinking… that life is really special…and I am enjoying it very much.

I am thankful for… for friends who worry about me and encourage me to take better care of myself.  I am taking better care and learning that eating three meals a day is really the best thing…

From the learning rooms… trying a new pattern for a swiffer cover.  The refills you buy in the store are rather expensive – and I’d rather have a few that I can use and throw into the washer and dryer.

From the kitchen… tomorrow I am having rainbow trout with lemon and walnuts; roasted potatoes, carrots, onions, garlic and parsnips; and some Dove ice cream for dessert. 

I am wearing… my nightclothes – which is actually a huge tee-shirt and undies…

I am creating… a new quilt!  I am really excited about this one – and will begin working on it this week.

I am going… to finally get to go to Rhinebeck…for those of you who don’t know what that is – it is the New York Sheep and Wool festival.  I think it is the largest one in New England.  I have been wanting to go ever since I moved to New Hampshire – but, have never gone (and it is only a little over three hours from me…)  It isn’t until October but I am very excited about going!

I am reading… The Coffin Dancer by Jeffery Deaver.  I really enjoy reading his books because he writes a good story – and you learn a lot about forensics…a  subject I have always been curious about.  I think I would have chosen that for a career had I really known about it when I was young.

I am hoping… that my daughter has a safe trip this week on the business trip she is taking.

I am hearing… the sounds of silence in my home…Killian is on the floor glaring at me because he knows it is bedtime…and he can’t figure out why we aren’t lounging.

Around the house… the usual – dusting, doing laundry, doing dishes, running the vacuum!  Those things don’t seem to go away…I don’t understand why!

One of my favorite things… is relaxing with some new videos I picked up…they are music and scenery…One has photos of Ireland; another gorgeous waterfalls; another scenes of the Grand Canyon, and the last one has Zen gardens…The music is lovely and it is nice to take an hour every few days to relax with one of these videos.

A few plans for the rest of the week: am meeting up with Millie’s mom on Wednesday – we are going to a couple of quilt shops and having lunch in Concord.  Millie is a lovely little cat who was saved by a bunch of bloggers who paid for her medical attention when someone found her hurt…Her mom adopted her with the condition that Millie would have her own blog so they could keep up with her.

Here is picture thought I am sharing…

willowbygiftThis is a prize that I won from Willowberry Designs in Australia – My sewing machine will be the best dressed machine at the next sewing day I attend!

felitinggiftThen I also won these wool felting fabrics…am thinking about making a penny rug for the fall.  This was from Thistledown and Company.

You can participate or read more daybooks here!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. colleen
    Aug 31, 2009 @ 17:30:15

    Sara, you’re so creative. You remind me of my sister Kathy who sews, hooks, and braids.

  2. Pat
    Aug 31, 2009 @ 22:07:28

    Is the Halloween print also wool felt? If so, that is really cool!!! I”m glad you are going to that festival in October that you’ve wanted to attend. Should be lots of fun!

  3. Rachel
    Aug 31, 2009 @ 23:50:22

    Congratulations on your wins – nice prizes!!!

    Your rainbow trout dinner sounded delicious. Next time you make it, invite me over, okay? haha

    I was just thinking that some nights I don’t want to go to bed even though I know I should… I’m afraid I’ll miss something. Just like a little kid, eh?

    Have fun on your lunch and quilt shop outing!

