Weaver?

Weaver?  Oh, that sounds so nice!  And, yes, I will be a weaver!  Class today was fun! 

First of all, I arrived with my loom and all the accessories I had been given…The good news is – I have just about everything I need!  The bad news – my loom is missing an essential piece.  It is the roller in the back but, we can easily get that taken care of.  (We both looked at photos on line – and then when I got home I looked again – and that is what it seems to be.)

I bought a book –

weaving4

I did my very first project planning sheet.  I will be making two dish towels out of 8/2 cotton,  Nobody told me that there would be all this math…thank goodness it is simple stuff like adding, subtracting, multiplying and dividing!  I can deal with that!

weaving2

Here I am working on my warp threads…I will need 255 warp threads that are 83 inches long.  I am using my teacher’s warp board.

weaving1

This is my teacher and friend, Deb checking my tension.  She said I was doing really well and that the tension was right.  She thinks I will do well with weaving! 

So, do I!  It just seems easy to understand…and I was very happy and felt totally relaxed working today.  My homework while we are waiting to get the part I need for the loom is to read the first 52 pages of the book.  The rest of the book has patterns…and to drop by the shop and finish my warp threads!  I think I can handle that!

(Hey, Mike – you knew I was the gal to give your loom to – thanks, my friend!  I still miss you!)

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ann Miller
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 22:22:16

    MATH!!!!! oh no, please tell me there is no green stuff involved. I look forward to keeping track of what you are up to on the weaving front!

  2. Sarah
    Sep 11, 2009 @ 08:56:35

    I can not wait to see what you produce! I love my loom

  3. Pat
    Sep 12, 2009 @ 19:00:27

    I’m glad you are enjoying this so much. It will be a nice activity for you to add to your knitting and quilting!

  4. Stephanie McCane
    Sep 12, 2009 @ 19:24:03

    This looks so fun! Looking forward to hearing more.

  5. Dave Daniels
    Sep 18, 2009 @ 14:00:12

    That’s so great that you’re learning to weave. And I’m looking forward to seeing Mike’s loom.

