Ten on Tuesday On Wednesday…

Ten Things That Have Changed Since I Moved to New Hampshire

1)  I eat better food!  Actually, I eat veggies!  I think it is because I cook more roasted root veggies and other veggies fixed in the oven.  It was always too hot in Florida to use the oven all the time.

2)  I do not go to Fast food restaurants.  No Wendys, McDonalds, Taco Bell, or Kentucky Fried Chicken!   I prefer to spend that $5.00 at a local restaurant.

3)  Am learning to appreciate our country’s history – because so much of it is around me.  Cities that are rich in history are close enough that one can drive to them – or get there by bus or train.

4)  I enjoy the seasons!  We only had hot and hotter-than-hell in Tampa!   So, it is wonderful to experience Spring, Summer, Fall, and Winter! 

5)  I use wool and other natural fibers to knit with.  When I took up knitting in Florida when I was in my 20s – all we had were synthetic yarns.

6)  I buy local more often…mainly because I don’t live near malls, and have never been a big mall shopper,  and am not a big internet shopper…so, I shop with local vendors and farmers markets (which we didn’t have any of in Tampa)

7)  On the downside – I got asthma.  I did not have asthma in Florida – but, I developed it here.  But, I am learning to control it and live with it. 

7a) and I am single again.

8)  I use my library more – I have always used the library to check out books – but, here I do a lot more than just check out books!  I attend lectures and workshops as well as rent movies and books.

9)  I use the interstate.  You would never have caught me on the interstate in Tampa.  It was awful!  Too crowded!  Now I think nothing of jumping on I-91 or I-89 and heading off. I drive around the New England States that are close to me – New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, and Maine because they are easy to get to.  When I lived in Florida – it would take me seven hours to just get to the Florida/Georgia border!

10)  I’ve learned to appreciate a simpler life – one where there is lots of land and farm animals to see; places to pick one’s own fruit (blueberries and apples come to mind); and lots of paths and roads to explore.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Life Looms Large
    Oct 21, 2009 @ 19:36:16

    I didn’t know that you’re a transplant to NH. How long ago did you move here???

    I’ve been here 22 years now…..and I’m still adjusting in some ways! Some things about the state that used to seem really weird to me, seem normal now. Watch out, it could happen to you!!

    Sue

  2. Pat
    Oct 22, 2009 @ 12:16:04

    Sounds like this was a good move for you!

  3. Elizabeth Delisi
    Oct 24, 2009 @ 16:36:55

    I spent 7 years in Florida, and 10 in Kansas. But I was born in Massachusetts, and I’ve always been a New England girl at heart. We’re in New Hampshire now and LOVING IT. I agree 100% about the natural fibers…the history of the area…the driving. And the fall colors are to die for!

  4. Pat Wys
    Oct 25, 2009 @ 13:16:34

    Well this sounds pretty good to me!

    Pat

