Quilt…

myaroundthesquare

Music on the Square

35-1/2″ x 35 – 1/2″

Machine pieced and hand quilted

Thought I would share another of my quilts with you.  This quilt was made when I lived in Tennessee.  It was made for a special show:

East Tennessee State University – Reece Museum’s Second Quilt Competition

“Mountain Messages II – Stories and Songs”

July 22 – September 12, 2004

Quilt Statement:

“My quilt, “Music on the Square” is reflective of the dreams we had when we moved to East Tennessee of a simpler life where people gathered on the town square to enjoy stories and songs.  It represents a time of peace and tranquility in our family’s life.”

Enjoy!

Edited by Sara:

Re: the hand quilting:

The squares (little ones) were quilted in the ditch…where the music is – I followed the line of the music- so it is sort of wavy… 

The border – I used a stencil – that had a very  beautiful design – which is TOTALLY LOST – because of the pattern in the fabric…

I also quilted it with a lovely silk thread – which I will not do again – because it is not heavy enough…

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pat
    Oct 22, 2009 @ 18:40:20

    I like your quilt and the quilt statement, too.

  2. Stephanie McCane
    Oct 22, 2009 @ 19:18:09

    I love the little squares. I can’t tell how you hand quilted it. Did you do any special design or pattern?

  3. Julie
    Oct 22, 2009 @ 20:50:22

    That’s lovely, Sara!

  4. Life Looms Large
    Oct 22, 2009 @ 21:31:26

    Beautiful quilt.

    It’s interesting, but to me that quilt has a lot that’s very weaverly about it.

    The overall design, the design of the border fabric and the white fabric with brown squiggles all remind me of things I saw looking through drafting books today.

    Interesting as you’re just starting down some sort of weaving path.

    Sue

  5. Janet
    Oct 23, 2009 @ 11:08:33

    It’s a beautiful quilt. The soft colors make it seem very soothing and comfortable. I know absolutely nothing about quilting and I’m always amazed at the time and patience that must go into making one.

  6. Pat Wys
    Oct 25, 2009 @ 13:18:30

    Very nicely none! I loved the way you wrote about the quilt as well.

    Pat

