My Corner of the World…

Woke up with a phone call from Scarlett this morning to see a) if I had changed my clock and b) to advise me to go check my freezer for any beef  that I might have bought in September with a certain number attached.  It had been recalled.

Well, I looked in the freezer and I remembered that the only beef I bought in September – I already ate…I made spaghetti sauce for some stuffed shells.  So, if that was it – I’d be pushing up daisies from the other side by now.

I am damn sick and tired of recalls – if it’s not the beef, then it is the peanut butter, or the car…Everytime you turn around some institution with a bunch of letters like FDA, CDC, or whatever is recalling something. 

A couple of friends of mine got recalls on their cars – one was for the floor mats that could get caught and cause your car to careen out of control.   The other was for some bracket that if you live anywhere where it snows gets eaten away by the salt used on the roads and your tires could go flying off in all directions.  Go figure!

I gotta tell you – I am sticking to doing stuff locally – I buy my veggies from some guy who lives down in Charleston in some religious comune.  I know that he grows good organic veggies…and they bake really good bread.

And, maybe next year I’ll get together with a few friends – and we’ll buy 1/2 a cow or 1/2 a pig from that farmer who has that beautiful farm that I pass all the time and whose animals look pretty and healthy…and I can see what he feeds them.

Maybe we should all start doing that – and say the hell with fair trade, free trade and whatever other kind of “trade” is out there – and support our local guys who really try to produce good food…and are losing their shirts doing the right thing.

That’s it – my yearly rant…thanks for putting up with it…

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pat
    Nov 01, 2009 @ 17:33:20

    I hear ya….and I think you make a very good point here. Seems like in the “olden” (golden???) days, there were less problems of this type…..and we weren’t faced with so much in the way of unhealthy and unsafe products. If someone is lucky enough to live in an area where they can buy local and can afford to do so, that seems to be the way to go.

  2. Sara
    Nov 01, 2009 @ 17:39:05

    Thank you…I think that whatever we can do to support local is a good thing!!! It doesn’t have to be a lot or an all or nothing type thing…

  3. Stephanie McCane
    Nov 01, 2009 @ 20:06:45

    I wish I could give up my car and walk or ride a bike everywhere, but unfortuately I don’t see that happening. Especially with winter on it’s way.

  4. Rachel
    Nov 01, 2009 @ 20:27:14

    I agree – much of the time we have no idea what we’re buying, in food products or otherwise. Buying locally can get expensive, though, especially around here! We do our best…

  5. gemma
    Nov 02, 2009 @ 10:26:55

    my husband, brother-in-law and a good friend got together and bought a cow and a pig. Another friend who lived in Bethel Maine raised them and when they were ready he, the fellow in Maine took care of the details. All meat was wrapped and separated and split 4 ways. We filled the freezer with our quarter portion. I cringe when they talk about doing it again since the freezer is filled with all the bargains I have spotted. I know it’s just a matter of time before we’re at it again. Get a big freezer or more friends.

  6. Janet
    Nov 03, 2009 @ 09:20:00

    i love supporting local farmers! I’d totally go in on that with you!

