Ten On Tuesday…

Ten Ways I Enjoy Using the Internet

You will notice that some of us have changed today’s theme – Ten Ways to Waste Time on the Internet – to something more positive…

1)  StumbleUpon – I love this website!  When you first sign up you get to pick categories that you are interested in…things like photography, cooking, etc.  You then get a navigation bar and if you click on the Stumble – it will take you to a website that you might be interested in!  So, fun…I have found wonderful photography and food!!!

2)  Blogs – I learn so much from knitting and quilting blogs…not to mention that I have become friends with some great people.  It has been wonderful!

3)  Ravelry – a place just for knitters.  I have found events in my area to go to;  have taken a chance and knit a pair of socks from a mystery sock pattern; have met great friends and found wonderful patterns, new designers, and gorgeous yarns.  What’s not to like!

4)  Facebook – it is a quick easy way to keep in touch with friends.  In the last week I found two friends that I haven’t seen in over 15 years…Yea, it’s nice!

5)  The Fresh Loaf  – It’s all about bread!  Homemade bread!!! 

6)  Tastespotting–  My friend, Carol loves this site…and I found it through StumbleUpon about a week before she mentioned it on her blog…I have been a fan ever since!  They have the most beautiful photos of food and links to the recipes.

7)  Sew Mama Sew – a bit more than a quilting blog – it has tons of inspiration for things to make…I spend a lot of time at this site…

8)  Among the Gum Trees – a group of Australian designers.  They feature embroidery and quilting – two of my passions.  I totally enjoy their designs.  All of them are very talented and very sharing in their ideas and patterns.

9)  The Pioneer Woman – mostly I love the cooking part of her site – but, there is a photography section…you could spend a lot of time there!  I’ve tried her recipes – and they have been awesome.  She give clear instructions with photos!

10) Bloggers Quilt Festival Fall – 2009 – This was the second Quilt Festival that Park City Girl sponsored.  It was fun…and so very inspirational!  683 Bloggers showed off one of their quilts!  There are links at the site to take you directly to each blogger’s quilt.  Awesome!  Great inspiration all year long!

If the link is bold – you can click on it and be there!  Do check them out.

So where do you like to hang out on the Internet?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. OldOldLady Of The Hi
    Nov 03, 2009 @ 20:14:22

    No, my dear…You did not send me the link. But I have it now and will put it in my blogroll!
    Not on Facebook and probably will not sign up again. Left there over a year and a half ago…!

  2. Rachel
    Nov 03, 2009 @ 21:29:35

    Rah rah to #2 – which reminds me, I received the article you mailed today. I opened it right away and sat down on the back step (while the dogs frolicked in the yard) to read it – still in my coat and boots. Wow. Almost made me cry. You know what I’m talking about.

    Thanks so much for sending it!

  3. Julie
    Nov 04, 2009 @ 07:37:20

    I hadn’t heard of #1 before; that one will be added to my bookmarks 🙂

  4. Janet
    Nov 04, 2009 @ 13:40:44

    Thanks for the Tastespotting link! I just submitted a couple of my food pictures there 🙂

  5. Tammy
    Nov 04, 2009 @ 22:56:55

    Thanks for the great ideas, I’m going to try them all out, except for Pioneer Woman – I’ve been a fan of her’s for quite a while!!

  6. Astrig
    Nov 06, 2009 @ 08:24:44

    You’ve just added some great blogs to my blog list…I enjoyed Pioneer Woman but the Australian Designers…oh my!

