Retreat…

This past week-end was awesome.  I went on a Knitting, Yoga and Meditation Retreat in Vermont.  The retreat was put on by Julie and it was held at  Sky Meadow Retreat Center out side of Hardwick, Vermont.

There were 13 of us – and I have to say – it was the most compatible group of people!  Everyone got along beautifully – we shared so many knitting skills, worked on beautiful patterns, and just enjoyed sharing time together.

Sandi

Sandi (whom I met on Ravelry) and I decided we would car pool…and we had a lovely ride up. 

TheBarn

This was called The Barn – and it was where we lived…It was beautiful…but, you’ll see…

bedroom1

This is a shot of the bedroom – A room for four – Anne, Kathy, Sandi and I shared this room…

mybed

This was my bed – adorable!  It was like having this little cubby all my own.  And, I have to tell you I slept well!  It took me a while the first night – because it was so dark and quiet…I didn’t realize how much noise I get at night in my apartment.  It truly was a most peaceful place to sleep.  But, I learned a few techniques to keep the sound and light out at my house…

dinnerbuffet

The food was vegetarian – and I have to say I was a bit worried that I would starve to death…but, I ate really well and came home with some new food favorites.

Meals were set out buffet style – and there was always a pot of soup for both lunch and dinner.  One night it was beet soup (which was so good); for lunch  pumpkin soup and another night it was Miso soup. 

They made this salad with cold beets and yogurt that was to die for … and I WAS NOT a beet eater…

Breakfast had Organic hard boiled eggs, homemade applesauce, breads, and homemade granola which I ate with yogurt. 

dinnerplate1

I always took a little of everything – and then went back for seconds on the things I really loved.  Let’s work our way around the plate – a carrot salad (very good);  kale cooked with lots and lots of garlic (excellent); pasta with fresh homemade pesto sauce (OMG – awesome) and it was especially good when you mixed the kale with the garlic with it…; spring roll with pumpkin;  and veggie sushi with sweet potatoes (decent – not my favorites). 

We did not have a bad meal while there!  And I had no Pepsi – but rather water (don’t faint) and hot herbal teas…yes I found out I like some of those too.

Tomorrow I will show you around the grounds – and the rest of the inside…

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer
    Nov 10, 2009 @ 18:19:06

    That looks such a lovely place to retreat to! Nice food too….like you I’m not a vegetarian (like the occasional chunk of dead animal too much) but I do enjoy veg food and yours is yummy.

  2. Pat
    Nov 10, 2009 @ 18:46:32

    I’d not have been very good with a few of the foods you showed on that plate. I’m glad you had a great time, though!

  3. Stephanie McCane
    Nov 10, 2009 @ 22:06:39

    It’s fun to try new things every once in awhile. Glad you had such good time, this sounds like a very relaxing trip! Can’t wait to see and read more.

  4. colleen
    Nov 12, 2009 @ 00:34:42

    Wow. I never would have thought to mix a meditation retreat with knitting. I’m okay with food like that as long as I get to start off with eggs!

  5. Sarah
    Nov 12, 2009 @ 07:18:56

    What a relaxing weekend!!

