Squirreling It Away…

Winter is coming!  I was reminded of that when a friend, Shephard, posted a photo on FB of this little squirrel who came begging for food.  He is being a good friend to the squirrel and feeding it walnuts. 

I realize that I do that right before winter…my grocery shopping changes to where I buy extras of the heavy things – cat food, cat litter, Kleenex, toilet paper, laundry detergent, and canned veggies (the few I like in cans).

It”s not because I think I will be snowed in – but, because these items are heavy to carry in during normal weather – but, having to struggle with them with snow and ice on the walkways and parking lots – not so much fun.

I also squirrel away knitting projects.  Plans for a certain yarn are made and it is bagged along with the pattern…that way I don’t have to hunt around for something to knit.  And, if the weather is bad, I don’t have to go shopping for any certain yarn.

Quilting projects are set up the same way – so, I can just go from one to another…

Come to think of it, if I didn’t need milk every week or so – I could actually stay home for the entire winter and not be hungry or bored…but, that’s not going to happen…

But, I am really thankful to little squirrels who remind us to put away for a cold day…

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Life Looms Large
    Nov 18, 2009 @ 17:16:21

    Hmmmm….maybe that explains my last few trips to the grocery store. Our fridge and freezer have been overflowing with food. (And I just brought home some dye that I want to freeze and use in the spring.) I’d better start eating!!

    Sue

  2. Pat
    Nov 18, 2009 @ 18:01:02

    I guess a lot of us have that nesting instinct when the weather starts to turn chilly and it gets dark earlier. I feel like time is getting away from me too quickly the past few weeks and now I am going to scramble to try to get things done……hate it when I feel that way. I love the holidays and hate to feel pressured and behind-schedule as they approach. *sigh*

  3. Jennifer
    Nov 18, 2009 @ 20:10:28

    Squirrels are cute little fellers, we don’t have them in Australia….I like the idea of squirrelling away goods until they are needed.

  4. Penny
    Nov 18, 2009 @ 21:16:52

    ooohhh, that’s a great idea about heavy things to squirrel them away and not have to lug them out of a store in the winter!!

  5. Rachel
    Nov 18, 2009 @ 21:37:28

    I that that ‘squirreling’ instinct must hearken back to the old days when transportations during winter was difficult and food was hard to find. See – we did learn something from our ancestors. Those habits are so ingrained in our behaviour that we still do that, despite the technology that makes life easier.

    I love having a store of projects to do in the winter time, too. It’s better to have quilts and knitting to work on than having to go out in the cold to the fabric store!

  6. Joe
    Nov 19, 2009 @ 21:42:12

    Good thinking! You probably don’t want to be lugging that stuff in snow and ice. Talk about slip potential!

