More Compassionate…Maybe…

I am getting older!  In a little over a week I will be having another birthday!   And, I am starting to speak my mind more!  Maybe because it’s the right thing for me at this time in my life…and maybe because I’m feeling a little more compassion than I’ve felt before…

Last night while watching Nightline – I saw some really cruel practices at some dairy farms.  I could not believe what I was seeing.  So, I posted something on Facebook – which read as follows:

“Just watching Nightline – and they showed some guy “docking” the tail of a milk cow with no meds so it wouldn’t hurt. That’s just mean! Wonder how he would like it if I cut his n**s off without any meds for pain???

I got a little flack for that – from a high school buddy…to which I replied:

“I would like to clarify my position on the milk cow issue – I was accused of not being fair – but, in truth! I was fair – had a woman been inflicting that unjust pain to that animal – then I would have said something to the effect of wondering how she would like it if “certain parts” were cut off without pain meds.

I think we need to respect life whether it is a human or an animal. Since the procedure did nothing to contribute to the milk cow producing milk – then it was cruel! Undignified and totally unnescessary!

Never have I understood cruelty to others and I continue to be amazed at the lack of respect and caring that people show to the animals that produce the food that goes in their mouths – just to convience themselves. And, I will continue to speak out against unjust practices whether they be to animals or humans.”

Guess I can get off my soapbox now…

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pat
    Jan 27, 2010 @ 16:50:45

    I see nothing wrong with what you posted about that. It would seem that the very least that could be done was to give meds that would eliminate the pain for the poor animal.

  2. Stephanie McCane
    Jan 27, 2010 @ 17:01:18

    You were right in what you said, I find that some people on facebook like to argue.

  3. Jennifer
    Jan 27, 2010 @ 18:24:24

    Good for you, you are right….sometimes people who know they are wrong get defensive, sounds as though this person did. Don’t let it stop you from speaking up.

  4. Tammy
    Jan 27, 2010 @ 19:03:16

    You go girl. Even farm animals need love – i grew up on a farm and cows are very sweet as are all animals and the cruelty that is being inflicted on them in the name of producing food is ridiculous. don’t ever watch what they do to chickens, it’s appalling. gone are the days of family run farms, it’s all big business and really they need to think about what they are doing.

  5. Pat
    Jan 27, 2010 @ 19:53:16

    Hi Sara
    I saw the same Nightline report and it made me so sad. Those poor cows were treated so cruely, I find it hard to believe that their milk is high quality. I hope that laws are passed to prevent this type of abuse.

  6. Amisha
    Jan 27, 2010 @ 22:39:04

    Happy Birthday in advance! I celebrated a birthday this week too!

  7. Gale
    Jan 28, 2010 @ 13:26:57

    An early Happy Birthday to you! And thanks for visiting Texifornia through OWOH. What part of Texas will you be visiting in September? Hope you have a wonderful trip.

  8. Colleen
    Jan 28, 2010 @ 15:30:47

    I think speaking your mind is all good!

    As for the cows in the Nightline report, the Lorax (Dr. Seuss) says “I am the Lorax, I speak for the trees. I speak for the trees, for the trees have no tongues…”

    Just like the trees, the cows can’t speak for themselves either. But we people can sure talk (and write…) – and if enough of us get talking and writing and spreading the word, maybe we can make a difference 🙂

  9. Julie
    Jan 28, 2010 @ 17:01:31

    You should always speak your mind, Sara! As for the treatment of the animals who produce our food, I agree completely with you.

  10. Janet
    Jan 29, 2010 @ 12:16:49

    It’s the same as docking a dog’s tail or ears for looks. I know the reason behind the docking, originally, but if the dog isn’t used for hunting, why continue?

