The Rest of The Birthday Event…

Terri, one of the women at the retreat, owns an alpaca farm in Peacham, Vermont.  Actually, I had met Terri at White River Yarns this past year, so, it was nice to see her again. 

On the way home Dianna and I decided to stop…

SnowShoe Farm has a ton of alpacas – I think Terri said they have 50 – but, I can’t remember for sure.

So sweet – they seem so curious…

And, so many colors…

This is Praline – is she not the cutest little thing!  She just was right there to meet you.  She wanted nothing more that to sniff at you – and check you out.  Did you know that alpaca only have bottom teeth???  I didn’t either – until Terry told me.

This one (whose name I can’t remember) was a love.  You will note she is sniffing at me.  Her little nose is actually touching my face.

We’re just talking to each other…

And, then I got a kiss!

One of the alpaca was a stunning shade – her coat was almost lavender.  This is a photo of her fleece…

I bought a skein of Alpaca/merino/nylon sock yarn in a beautiful gray made from the alpacas on the farm.  My socks will be a wonderful remembrance of my 64th birthday.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ramona
    Feb 11, 2010 @ 18:44:30

    Happy Birthday Sara – and thank you for your nice follow-up note to my first OWOH visit!

    I LOVE alpalca so it was a delight to share your pics with you today! I had the pleasure of being introduced to them several years ago – they are the sweetest creatures! How lucky you are to be kissed by one – from what I understand, they can be very shy!

    Have a great day and if you have not already done so, be sure to enter my OWOH giveaway as well – if you become a Kindred Spirit and win, there will be an extra gift enclosed with your prize!

    Hugs
    Ramona 🙂
    http://create-with-joy.blogspot.com

  2. Pat
    Feb 11, 2010 @ 19:48:23

    How nice that you got to have such a fun visit with the alpacas and got some nice photos to share with us. Our gastroenterologist and his wife have them and I do enjoy seeing them.

  3. Stephanie McCane
    Feb 11, 2010 @ 21:36:13

    Ooooo alpaca socks, those will be soooo soft! That lavendar shade is so pretty, I’ve never seen it that color before.

  4. Ivory Spring
    Feb 11, 2010 @ 22:54:07

    Sara, Happy Birthday. I enjoy the pictures!!

  5. Janet
    Feb 12, 2010 @ 14:10:34

    What a cutie!!!

  6. Jennifer
    Feb 13, 2010 @ 03:28:36

    I really really like ‘packies’ as we call them….they have such quizzical faces. Lucky you, to meet them so close!

  7. Colleen
    Feb 14, 2010 @ 19:50:19

    Oh goodness – they are SO adorable!! What a wonderful way to celebrate your birthday – with alpacas!!

