Cranky Shows…

While at the Knitting Retreat, I mentioned that we had entertainment each evening.  Karen, who is a folk singer, put on a cranky show for us.

Well, I’ve had several people ask me to explain what that is…so, I’m going to try.

I made these photos large so that maybe you can see what I am trying to explain. 

You can see two cranks at the top of machine she is standing next to.  These cranks each hold a roll of paper.  The paper has been colored (this one in crayon) with scenes from a certain folk song. 

As Karen sings the song, she turns the crank at the top and the paper comes around and shows a scene…

until the song is over.  There were two songs on this particular cranky machine. 

Evidently this is a form of entertainment that comes from way back.  It was very interesting…and we all really enjoyed the show.

It seems that last year there was a festival in Montpelier, Vermont…

So, there you go – you now know all I know about Cranky Shows…

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer
    Feb 18, 2010 @ 02:44:42

    That looks like a lot of fun!

  2. gemma
    Feb 18, 2010 @ 08:07:56

    Who knew? Now we do. Thanks Sara.

  3. Pat
    Feb 18, 2010 @ 14:44:55

    What FUN!!! Sounds like it would be a fun project for kids to MAKE a cranky show on rainy days in the summer……guess you could make some kind of homemade cranky box pretty easily. Thanks for taking the time to explain this.

  4. Pat @ Mille Fiori
    Feb 18, 2010 @ 15:46:56

    Hi Sara
    Thank you for your kind words on my blog! I really appreciate them!

    The cranky show is interesting as it is a bit of folk Americana. Before the years of radio, TV, or movies, I can see how this was a great form of entertainment. It’s nice that some people still carry on the tradition.

    ♥ Pat

  5. Stephanie McCane
    Feb 18, 2010 @ 19:05:44

    Interesting, I had no idea. Thanks for sharing:)

  6. Rachel
    Feb 18, 2010 @ 19:31:01

    How neat! I’ve seen the stories on a roll idea before, but never set to music. That must have been very interesting to watch/listen to.

