Friday Sew-In Finishes…

Actually, there were some finishes!!!  I’m proud of myself…

The first thing I finished was a block – can’t say too much about where it is headed – but I enjoyed making it.

The block is 10-1/2 square and I hand appliqued the heart on.  My applique is getting there…I can barely see my stitches so that is a good thing. 

Then I made another “green” grocery bag as I call them…

100% cotton with reinforced straps and French seams to make it stronger.  Needed to have one for a class I am going to be explaining the technique to at my quilt guild meeting.  It was supposed to happen this past week – but, we got snowed out.

Think I would have gotten more finished – but, the applique took me quite a bit of time…and I am content with the things I accomplished.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer
    Feb 20, 2010 @ 03:27:54

    That’s a useful pink green grocery bag! and such a pretty heart.

  2. Naomi Vela
    Feb 20, 2010 @ 09:42:44

    Both look great, but I’m a sucker for bags, so would have to say that’s my favourite! Hugs Naomi

  3. Pat
    Feb 20, 2010 @ 11:36:35

    GOOD job on both of them. I just posted what I worked on……which looks like not much was accomplished but hand-quilting takes a long time!!!

  4. Jandi Dean
    Feb 21, 2010 @ 07:58:42

    Everything looks great! Applique always takes a long time and I can’t see a single stitch. Fantastic!

  5. Dorothy
    Feb 21, 2010 @ 12:27:27

    Love your bag! I have made some too for shopping…only problem is I forget them!!
    I also love your heart, applique is very relaxing
    take care
    Dorothy

  6. Debby
    Feb 21, 2010 @ 15:14:27

    Seeing the heart on the quilt square brought back nice memories for me, of when I was small and my mother used to use her sewing scraps to make that type of quilt. It was nothing fancy but I always think those type of quilts are the most charming!!

    Are you as sick of being snowed out of things as I am?

  7. Julie
    Feb 22, 2010 @ 13:12:13

    I love your pink green bag!

