Books and Authors…

In the last year I have discovered some wonderful authors that were totally new to me…

The first one is J.T.Ellison.  She writes a heck of a psychological thriller.  Think that is why I like her writing so much…reminds me of the really gripping shows on Criminal Minds.  She has written four novels total – and I currently am reading her 4th – The Cold Room after waiting a while for it to come out.  Tend to get impatient when I’ve read the first three so quickly.

Ellison features a homicide detective named Taylor Jackson – and the novels are set in Nashville, TN.  

When checking the link to her website I found out that she is offering a gift to her readers  – you can download her first book “All the Pretty Girls” free from her website. It’s worth it…but, don’t blame me when you get hooked!

The second author I discovered this year was Ann Hood.  Ann is considered a contemporary fiction author…

The first book I read by her was called “The Knitting Circle” – and I have to tell you I could not put it down.  She writes books with characters that really grab hold of you and make you want to know them.

The second book I read was “The Properties of Water”.  Her books are about people and their lives – and each book she seems to pull me in.  She has written more than 10 books – and I recently purchased – “Somewhere off the Coast of Maine”. 

I really like what she does with characters…and I think I will be hunting down some of her other books. 

And, finally – a book that just grabbed my attention…

It is called “The Recipe Club” by Andrea Israel and Nancy Garfinkel – and it is the story of two friends who begin a two-person club where they share with each other their hopes, dreams, and disappointments through letters and recipes.  It is the type of book I like to read – I love reading books that are in letter form.  Borrowed it from the library – but, I have a feeling I will be buying it down the road.

As a matter of fact one of my most favorite books that is written this way is “A Woman of Independent Means” by Elizabeth Forsythe Hailey…

So that’s it for a cold and gray near-the-end-of-February day.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Janet
    Feb 27, 2010 @ 20:47:16

    The recipe club sounds awesome! Ann Hood was the name of my gym teacher in high school LMAO!

  2. Janet
    Feb 27, 2010 @ 20:58:26

    Thanks for these great book reviews. I’m always looking for authors I haven’t read yet and these sound interesting. I also like books in either letter or diary form. “A Woman of Independent Means” was such a good book. I had forgotten about it until you mentioned it. Maybe I’ll read it again.

    Are you snowed in?

  3. Jennifer
    Feb 27, 2010 @ 22:33:24

    Next time I go to my library I will see if they have books by these authors – thanks for the heads-up!

  4. anna
    Feb 27, 2010 @ 23:31:36

    Sara,
    Sounds like a great book list- I have heard of Ann Hood but not read her books nor any of the other ones so I will have to check them out when I get the chance.

    I have always loved the book “A Woman of Independent Means”. I have not read it for a love time but I loved it.
    One of the best books I have read in a long time is a book called ” The Help by Kathryn Stockett.
    You may also enjoy the The Guernsey Potato Peel Literary Society ( I think that is the title- I have to really think it about when I writing it down) It is a fun story done in a letter format. It takes place around the end of the second World war. I have enjoyed it very much –
    Happy reading- Hope the snow is not creating too much damage and havoc for you.
    Regards,
    Anna

  5. Pat
    Feb 28, 2010 @ 15:41:00

    I love to see book recommendations by my friends. Hope you are having a relaxing weekend.

