The End of the Month…

February – my birthday month has come to an end today.  I don’t feel any older – and certainly don’t act any older!  I’m the one drivin’ down the road with my stereo loudly playing – “You Sexy Thing” by Hot Chocolate.

At 64 – I am fortunate.  Have no real illnesses that can’t be controlled by medicine.  Even my asthma can be controlled and now that I have a rescue inhaler am feeling better about it.

Live in a State that I truly love.  I think I have been a New Englander all my life – just never realized it.  I don’t freak when it snows – and rather love the look of the land when it is white.  The mountains still thrill me – and I love the back roads…they take me to cute and welcoming little towns.  The four seasons each give me life and a sense of adventure.

My income provides for my needs and a few extras…true I have to save for the bigger things – but, doesn’t everyone?  The things I enjoy – books, music, movies, fabric and yarn are within my reach in my home…and keep me creative.

My family stays close – sometimes not as close as I would like – but, we are there for each other.  My daughter stays in touch via e-mail, FB, and the phone.  My sister does the same.  And, of course, I see Mom on a regular basis – and know that she is healthy and well taken care of.

My cat, Killian, is almost 14 now – and he still makes me laugh at his antics.  I can tell he is aging…every afternoon between 2 and 3 he heads for my bed for his afternoon nap…and comes out around dinner time at 6 or 7.

My friends are many – and I enjoy spending time with them either in person or on line…we share many things – our quilting, knitting, recipes, and love of life.

So, I am thankful for who I am and what I have accomplished…my life is lived to the fullest and I am going to continue to enjoy it to the fullest!!!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Janet
    Feb 28, 2010 @ 19:32:22

    It sounds like you’re happy with your life and that’s how it should be. I feel the same about mine although during the summer months I’d like to live someplace else!

  2. diane
    Feb 28, 2010 @ 20:25:32

    Sara….happy birthday! sounds like you have a lot to be thankful for.

  3. Life Looms Large
    Feb 28, 2010 @ 20:38:01

    As your birthday month rolls to a close, mine starts.

    Glad that there’s so much that’s good in your life right now! And I’m impressed that you love NH at the end of February! Maybe you really are a New Englander at heart!

    Sue

  4. Stephanie McCane
    Feb 28, 2010 @ 21:33:03

    You sexy thing by Hot Chocolate is one of my favorite songs! Perfect for blasting from a car stereo while singing along:) Seems like you had a wonderful birthday this year, it will make for a wonderful year to follow!

  5. Pat
    Feb 28, 2010 @ 22:31:12

    What a very nice reflection you wrote at the end of your b’day month! I’m happy to read all that you wrote here.

  6. Janet
    Mar 01, 2010 @ 20:56:12

    I really like positive people!

  7. Dorothy
    Mar 02, 2010 @ 22:40:48

    Sara
    What a wonderful post — What a nice reflection of your life.
    Dorothy

  8. Susan
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 00:09:01

    Sara, you are one of my dearest friends. I’m so happy that you hold life in the palm of your hand and enjoy every minute of it. Thank you so much for your kindness this week. And next time we talk I’ll try not to be so blubbery LOL

