This and That Monday…

Free motion quilting is really fun – and really interesting – but, it does take some practice.  I did manage to make some lines; tried to follow a heart pattern; and tried to write my name – which came out pretty well.  But, it will be a while before I will try to use it on something that is leaving my possession.

Did I mention that I took a fall?  Probably not!  I certainly did not want you to know that I took this-not-so-very-graceful-crash on the doorstep to Michael’s on Saturday.  The end result – skinned both knees, tore my jeans, scrapped up the palms of my hands, and broke a fingernail.  But, it is better…today.

All I could think of was my friend, Jennifer, who fell a while back while on vacation and is still having problems.  Although, she is getting better…and back to playing with fabric. 

Well, that’t it for now…

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rachel
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 19:08:36

    OUCH! I hope you’re okay! Any time I’ve taken a tumble or tripped or something, the first thing that always pops into my head is, “Did anybody see?” My pride is usually injured more than anything else.

    Writing your name in free-motion quilting is cool! I wrote my friend Cheryl’s name on the quilt I made her for her 40th birthday. She still hasn’t found it… hehe

  2. Stephanie McCane
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 20:05:29

    So glad you’re doing ok. Sounds like you really had a painful fall. 😦
    I’m so glad you’re trying free motion quilting, it’s so fun. Can’t wait to see some of your work, have fun with it!

  3. Jennifer
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 20:42:28

    Ouch, Sara! You don’t need to do what I did! The worst thing about a public fall is that it makes you feel such a goat……people are probably thinking ‘poor thing, she can’t hold her liquor’…..*grin*

  4. Debby
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 21:15:08

    Ouch! I hope you are not too sore for very long. It does hurt your pride most, but also if you fall the wrong way, you can hurt miserably for a bit. I hope that is not the case!

  5. Colleen
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 12:08:10

    Ouch! Hope you heal up quickly!!

  6. Rhonda StitchingNut
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 14:42:05

    Falls are really not a good idea to try and pull off at our age, Sara. Stay home and rest … and stitch.

  7. gemma
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 14:49:34

    Yikes! We don’t bounce so well after a certain age. We ache and pain a lot after a fall too. Hot baths, motrin and often a stiff drink will sort it out. Hope you feel better. Those ripped jeans are all the rage now you know.

  8. Janet
    Mar 17, 2010 @ 10:21:56

    Hope you’re feeling better! Maybe you can sew a nice patch on the ripped knee in your pants!

