Damages: Wind and Rain…

New Hampshire has been seeing it’s bad weather days here recently.  First the ice storm that hit and then this week-end lots and lots of rain and wind…

My city was blessed in that we did not have any real flooding – but we did have some major rain and wind…but, still the damage was at a minimum.

Part of the fence at my old house blew down…

It just broke in places that weren’t even connecting seams…But, there is a lot to be said for this being the only damage…considering that there are three very large beautiful trees that could have done a lot of damage had they come down.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rhonda StitchingNut
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 18:38:06

    I had trouble sleeping Saturday night because of those two big trees in my backyard. Remember having tea under ’em with me? Well the noise of the wind was difficult to sleep thru so I moved to the couch [& that’s a love seat … not much for sleeping]

    It’s thankfully a beautiful day today tho. 😉

  2. OldOldLady Of The Hi
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 18:50:52

    Hard to say you were Lucky, when I see the pictures of The Downed Fence…But, I guess you really were Lucky….As you said, those trees could have done a lot of damage much worse. Gee….I hope you all start to get some better weather, very very soon…..!

  3. Pat
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 19:03:59

    Having had a tree come down on our house last summer, I can relate to what you are saying about the trees. Wind now makes me VERY nervous.

  4. Debby
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 21:43:24

    I’m glad you didn’t have more damage than losing the fence. New England has been hit so hard this winter by all the storms; I hope that means we will see some wonderful summer weather soon!

  5. Stephanie McCane
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 22:18:08

    We had a lot of rain and wind here too over the weekend and through Monday. Today on the other hand was gorgeous, sunny and warm! We played outside with no coats on, and I almost wished I was wearing shorts because the sun was that warm. I don’t ever remember March being so warm.

  6. diane
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 23:06:10

    Yikes…I guess it could have been much worse. That wind was awful, and we were a bit nervous as we have lots of soft pine trees surrounding us.

  7. Jennifer
    Mar 17, 2010 @ 02:51:19

    Wind can do a tremendous amount of damage even without rain to help it along – so long as no one was hurt, a fence can be replaced.

  8. Dave Daniels
    Mar 17, 2010 @ 08:04:20

    We have some pretty serious water damage in our apartment. Everything is piled along one side of the apartment. The guy below us had his ceilings collapse from the weight of the wet plaster. NEVER seen anything like this before. Glad you”re ok.

  9. Janet
    Mar 17, 2010 @ 10:22:35

    in my old town, they had to close the main road…it was flooded over in one spot!

