Yarn Tasting…

Yarn tasting?  Yes, a yarn tasting!  It’s like a wine tasting – only you get to try out different yarns! 

(And, okay – there was some wine there too – along with some snacks, cranberry juice, and chocolate!)

As you know I was up in Littleton, New Hampshire and on Friday night my friends, Scarlett, Elizabeth, and I attended this wonderful yarn tasting at The Yarn Garden

I had “met” Susan, one of the owners, over the phone when I was looking for a certain pattern…and when I realized I would be there in time for the yarn tasting I asked her to sign me and my friends up.

We arrived at the shop – which is beautiful – and has some of the nicest yarns I’ve seen – a little after the beginning …  At our place at the table we each found this:

Each of these little cards contained a bit of yarn from South West Trading Company.  There was some bamboo, corn fiber, Soysilk, and Tofutsies (Superwash Wool, Soysilk, cotton, & Chitin {shrimp & crab shells}). 

We sat around and talked, shared ideas about patterns for a wedding afghan, helped pick out the color for one of the gals husband’s office, ate goodies, laughed, and met new friends. 

Elizabeth is a new knitter and she really enjoyed the experience of getting to try new yarns.  Scarlett is a yarn picker – she picks yarn for some else to knit something for her.  But, since they were new in the community – it gave them a chance to meet people there. 

Scarlett walked out with the name of a new accountant – who she met there; several recommendations for places to see and restaurant suggestions. 

It was knitters doing what we do best – sharing!  And, it was totally FUN!

Oh, and did I mention that there were door prizes:

A sock pattern, a hat pattern, and a skein of Tofutsies!  Guess who is going to have some nice socks!  Scarlett and Elizabeth gave me their prizes as a present! 

And, there were purchases too…

Some lovely wool/alpaca blend to make a warm winter hat.  Think it will be the Bias Ridged Hat…

I had a really fun time – and will be going back again to visit Susan and the shop!!!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pat
    Mar 27, 2010 @ 14:39:48

    What a fun time……the hat is cute…looks like a watermelon! I like Scarlett’s idea of being a yarn-picker!!! I prefer that, too, since I can crochet but can’t knit.

  2. Janet
    Mar 27, 2010 @ 15:29:41

    What a fun idea….yarn tasting! It sounds like you had a great time along with your friends.

    (I’ve been on a blog break and I’m just now easing back.)

  3. Stephanie
    Mar 27, 2010 @ 22:11:41

    What a great idea, and look at all the goodies you got! How fun 🙂

  4. Leigh
    Mar 28, 2010 @ 09:43:21

    What a fantastic idea! But oh, however did you manage to walk out without buying everything!?!?!

  5. diane
    Mar 28, 2010 @ 20:46:37

    The Lovely wool/alpaca yarn is awesome. Have you ever taken a trip to WEBS in Northampton, MA for yarn?? What a place!

  6. Rhonda StitchingNut
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 13:29:21

    Love the yarn you have for the hat. Love yarn tastings too.

  7. Janet
    Apr 01, 2010 @ 01:10:58

    That watermelon hat is cute!

