The End Of The Month…

Sorry I’ve been under the weather with a darn sinus infection and headache for three days!  It was so bad that I spent most of yesterday in bed.  I hope once the rain disappears and we get some sun that I will get some relief.

Scarlett called me this morning to tell me they had a BEAR at their house last night!  It ripped up the bird feeder and took off with it…That’s kind of scary!

The quarterly meeting about mom was today – and she is up to 115 pounds!  I swear that is the most she has weighed in her entire life!  (I don’t think she weighed that much when she was pregnant with us!)

Plus they are trying out a new program – offering massages!  Mom has been getting one at least every week – it is of her neck and shoulders and lasts about 10 – 15 minutes.  She loves it!!!  Since it is in the experimental stages – they are not charging – just trying to get a feel for how many people would like it. 

If the program works out – and they decide to go with it – the massage therapist is going to charge 50 cents a minute…so it would be $5.00 to $7.50 for mom to get a massage!  That would be wonderful!!!  I hope it becomes part of the routine there!

March has been a “pain” here in New Hampshire…Lots of rain, lots of flooding, and many people have been affected.

I am most thankful that my area has been free of flooding – and that I am safe and warm in my home…Some of my friends have not been as lucky!  Please keep them in your thoughts.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Julie
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 11:33:53

    I’m sorry you are suffering with a sinus infection; hopefully, your surgery will help with the frequency of them!
    It’s good to hear how well your mother is doing; sounds like she’s in a wonderful, caring environment.

  2. gemma
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 11:38:00

    Sorry you’ve been under the weather. Hope you are on the mend now. Glad to hear you are warm and dry. We had water in the basement but not as bad as others. Our basement is really just a basement and nothing of value in it. Hard to watch the news and see the losses so many have to deal with. Thank God the rain is about over. Now we’ll pray the rivers start to go down.

  3. Tammy
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 12:20:54

    Hope you feel better soon Sara. And I hope you see some wonderful sunshine soon as well. Sounds like your Mom is doing great and the massage idea is wonderful, I sure hope the implement it as a program – I think it would be wonderful for the residence and the price is certainly right.

  4. Janet
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 19:44:13

    Yeah, when you’re in bear country you got to get rid of the bird feeders!

    That’s cool Mom’s weight is up and that she’s getting massages!

  5. Stephanie
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 21:01:48

    Wow, that’s a bit too close for comfort with a bear in the backyard! Hope you’re feeling better soon, and that you have tons of sunshine and warm weather.

  6. Pat
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 22:58:02

    I’m glad you feel better. My Tara and her hubby have had serious water in the basement of their rental home and the landlord just is not clearing it up. They worry about mold growth and their daughter’s health since their daughter has asthma. Why can’t some landlords be nicer and do the right thing? I told her to call the local board of health. YIKES about the bear in Scarlett’s yard!!!

  7. Janet
    Apr 01, 2010 @ 18:24:40

    So sorry to hear you’ve not been feeling so good. I’m sure the weather hasn’t been helping things….sounds like your part of the country has really been getting a lot of rain. Stay warm and dry!!

