Moving On…Growing…

Changes are sometimes really hard to make…and at times we don’t realize the affect those changes can have on us…

In the past three years – I have gone through life-changing changes. 

Became single again – Guess I never realized how the end of an eleven-year relationship would change me.  Spent a lot of time mourning the loss – which is to be expected.

Finally got to where I felt life was back on track -when Mom had another stroke – and we had to make the decision that I could no longer care for her at home.  It took me forever to adjust to her not being in the apartment – and driving out to see her.   She is doing wonderfully in her new home and I know we made the right decision.

Got it all together from that – and then BAM – Scarlett moved far enough away that it now meant we would not be close enough to see each other on a regular basis.  It’s a lot different living 1/6th of a mile away to 1-1/2 hours away!

Yesterday…it got to me…and after a day of crying, screaming, and mourning yet another event…I am ready to move on!!! 

Time for me to spread my wings, make new friends, and get on with it…I’m not planning on going anywhere or living anywhere different.  I love New Hampshire – and while Claremont is a somewhat depressed area – they are trying to turn things around.  Not only that – but Claremont is pretty much in the middle of everything and every place I want to explore!

So on to new adventures!

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Monique
    Apr 01, 2010 @ 18:23:06

    What is that old phrase? the only constant thing in life is change, or something to that effect. Regardless, you’re doing just what you should do….celebrate, grieve, love and move forward. Not always easy to do…but necessary. Stay kind to yourself and allow yourself to have those days when you just feel like crying, (we need those too!)

    But I’m writing because I need to get your address so that I can mail your One World One Heart prize (now that I’m back in the country to mail it!) 🙂

    send me a note at Moniquelk (at) gmail (dot) com

    thanks! and I look forward to hearing about your next adventure!

  2. diane
    Apr 01, 2010 @ 19:24:33

    Sara….sounds like you have the right attitude. Change is hard, but I always believe things happen for a reason, and something better is right around the corner. Believe that and it will happen; good luck

  3. Stephanie
    Apr 01, 2010 @ 20:17:02

    I’m so glad you are thinking positive and have decided you are going to make the best of your changes. It’s hard to move forward at times, but I agree, better days are just around the corner!

  4. Pat
    Apr 01, 2010 @ 21:47:30

    Be at peace Sara there is so much to live and enjoy. You have friends here…and many more adventures and new joys ahead.

    Pat

  5. Pat
    Apr 01, 2010 @ 22:19:09

    I really can’t add to what the others have already said so eloquently. You have the right spirit…that’s for sure!!!

  6. Julie
    Apr 02, 2010 @ 06:49:38

    Hugs to you, Sara. Love ya!

  7. Dorothy
    Apr 02, 2010 @ 08:34:00

    Sara
    I also am a person who hates change, but unfortunetly change happens and we have to accept it – It seems like you have a positive attitude towards it and that is the best thing you can try to be positive. Remember everything happens for a reason, and we might not now why right now, but in the future you will sit back and say OH that is why that happened. Hang in there
    Have a nice Easter
    Dorothy

  8. gemma
    Apr 02, 2010 @ 11:43:56

    You go girl! Throw your hat in the air and do a Mary Tyler Moore dance step. That always makes me feel better. I stopped in for a visit and although my circumstances are different you have captured my mood for the past couple of days. Today the sun is out and Spring has sprung and I am going to follow your lead and make some new connections myself. What’s that Maxine thing? Life hands you lemons. Make lemonade. That’s what I know you will do and so shall I. Thanks for the inspiration.

  9. Janet
    Apr 02, 2010 @ 12:13:55

    Well said, Sara! I’m glad to count myself among your new friends, even tho we don’t see each other too often.

  10. Tammy
    Apr 02, 2010 @ 12:16:02

    changes can be so difficult and upsetting, but you have the right idea, you’re picking up and moving on with life and embracing it. you’ll be fine and i’m glad you allowed yourself time to mourn a bit too – that is so important.

  11. anna
    Apr 02, 2010 @ 19:52:39

    Hi Sara,
    Life is an ever changing process-it sometimes gets to be a lot to cope with at once. It sounds like some things are settling out for you- Your positive attitude will stand you in good stead as you move forward. Your friendship with Scarlett will continue and I am sure you will make many new friends through your love of knitting and quilting.
    Sending you warm positive thoughts for some exciting new challenges and friendship.
    Regards,
    Anna

  12. Leigh
    Apr 02, 2010 @ 23:16:52

    You certainly have had some tough things to deal with. Still, when I read your blog and the comments you leave, I sense a woman who has grown through those experiences. There is definitely a time for grieving, and a time for experiencing peace once again as well.

