Fun Day…

Today was such a fun day!  And, I almost didn’t go. 

Began the morning heading to a Community Wool Fest & Free Wool Giveaway.  This was held on a Vermont Farm – there were baby lambs everywhere you turned…

Mom, I’m hungry!!! 

This little one was so frisky about getting his milk – and his two siblings were on the other side…

And, this little darling…came over finally and sniffed my hand – then started chewing on my fingers!

From there I went into the barn – ran into a Cheese-maker …

Beautiful wheel of cheese…tried two different cheeses.  Once was a mix of cow and sheep.  It was softer and had more fat.  The other was a sheep cheese – and I loved it.  It was a harder cheese and had a really nice taste.  Didn’t buy any…though.

Then I ran into a friend of mine – Kristen, she owns a small farm with some wonderful goats that she won last year or the year before – can’t remember exactly.  I remember when she was trying to win the goats and a lot of us sent letters and e-mails to the person who was giving them away.  She held a contest and Kristen won!  We met at a local yarn shop a while back – and her mom and I went to the Vermont Knitting Camp in February! 

It was so nice to see her – she was trying to teach me to spin on a spindle – but, I’m not too great at it yet…practice!  And, lots of it.

The farm folk were giving away free wool…so, I picked a small bag for myself.  Not even five pounds…It needs to be washed and carded…but, I will be using it to make thrummed mittens for myself…so, I am glad I have the raw fleece to work with.

On the way home, I stopped at a small quilt show…The quilts were very nice and I enjoyed seeing them.

