Fun Day…

Today was such a fun day!  And, I almost didn’t go. 

Began the morning heading to a Community Wool Fest & Free Wool Giveaway.  This was held on a Vermont Farm – there were baby lambs everywhere you turned…

Mom, I’m hungry!!! 

This little one was so frisky about getting his milk – and his two siblings were on the other side…

And, this little darling…came over finally and sniffed my hand – then started chewing on my fingers!

From there I went into the barn – ran into a Cheese-maker …

Beautiful wheel of cheese…tried two different cheeses.  Once was a mix of cow and sheep.  It was softer and had more fat.  The other was a sheep cheese – and I loved it.  It was a harder cheese and had a really nice taste.  Didn’t buy any…though.

Then I ran into a friend of mine – Kristen, she owns a small farm with some wonderful goats that she won last year or the year before – can’t remember exactly.  I remember when she was trying to win the goats and a lot of us sent letters and e-mails to the person who was giving them away.  She held a contest and Kristen won!  We met at a local yarn shop a while back – and her mom and I went to the Vermont Knitting Camp in February! 

It was so nice to see her – she was trying to teach me to spin on a spindle – but, I’m not too great at it yet…practice!  And, lots of it.

The farm folk were giving away free wool…so, I picked a small bag for myself.  Not even five pounds…It needs to be washed and carded…but, I will be using it to make thrummed mittens for myself…so, I am glad I have the raw fleece to work with.

On the way home, I stopped at a small quilt show…The quilts were very nice and I enjoyed seeing them.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. diane
    Apr 11, 2010 @ 18:30:37

    This sounds like a fun time. My daughter was headed home from NH after some sort of a yarn festival? Not sure on the details though.

  2. Stephanie
    Apr 11, 2010 @ 19:32:36

    That does sound like a fun day! We are all under the weather here this weekend, I think Andy and I are having some awful allergy issues. It was a beautiful weekend though, glad you got out and enjoyed it 🙂

  3. Pat
    Apr 11, 2010 @ 21:54:55

    What a FUN time and those sheep are so cute!!! I’m glad you had a nice day but I think you should have bought yourself some of that cheese…..you will be thinking about it and wishing you had, I suspect!!!

  4. Leigh
    Apr 12, 2010 @ 06:46:50

    Sounds like such a fun day. Now I’m wondering about sheep cheese. I’ve heard of it before, but never tried it. I’m wondering how hard it is to milk a sheep.

  5. Sarah
    Apr 12, 2010 @ 08:15:43

    glad you ended up getting out- it sounds like so much fun!

  6. Janet
    Apr 12, 2010 @ 11:57:15

    This will probably show my complete ignorance but why does the lamb have a pink streak on its back? They’re so cute!

    Sounds like a fun day….friends, food, and free wool!

  7. Debby
    Apr 13, 2010 @ 19:46:19

    I have the same question as Janet about the pink stripe! The lambs are so cute. It must have been such a great way to spend your day!

  8. Pat
    Apr 13, 2010 @ 22:11:04

    I don’t know if the painted stripe means the same thing here as I was told it meant when I visited Ireland. There I was told that the sheep wander around and the different color stripes are used by different farmers so they can easily sort their sheep out when it comes time to shear them.

