The Week from Hell…

I know it’s been an entire week without my blogging…so, I guess I better fill you in on my strange and upsetting week.

Monday, I went to the hospital for a physical and labs for my upcoming sinus surgery.  Got all the stuff done and went and visited with Mom (who was going out to lunch at her favorite restaurant by the water).

Came home to find a message from my doctor’s office asking me to please call.  I called – she asked me come back to redo a blood test.  I told her I would go ahead and come back (45 minutes one way) – since it was a pretty day out…

Got there and they immediately took me back – the nurse came in and stated that she needed to do a finger stick…and I was okay with that.  Then my doctor and the doctor who had seen me for the physical came in.  They asked if I was feeling okay…Yes;  Was I thirsty – Yes; A lot – well, yes…

Then they hit me with the news:  They told me that my blood sugar was 627.  And, that they needed to admit me to get things under control…and find out what was going on.

I had nothing with me – no bed clothes, no books, no KNITTING…so, I asked if I could run next door to the pharmacy that carries all that stuff…and they said yes – but to hurry.  They didn’t want me gone long.  I ran over – they had no interesting books – but, I got some cotton yarn to make a dishcloth.

The next two days were just a blur of tests and blood sugar checks and insulin – and to make a long story short I was allowed to come home late Wednesday afternoon.

At this point in time – they are saying that I am a diabetic…and I am testing my sugars twice a day and taking a medicine for it.

The only thing they can figure was that I might have been pre-diabetic and with all the Prednisome that I was taking and had taken in a short time – it just blew it right out!

Have been going from totally confused to not having any energy to not really having the spirit to do the things I like (blog, knit, quilt)…

Today is the first day that I have felt better – and I will be visiting with a diabetic educator this coming week.  I really need to do that – it will keep me from standing in the kitchen with my hands in the air and crying cause I am so damn confused about carbs, sugars, and servings. 

But, I will get this under control too…I always manage to get past all the challenges that come my way … this one just might take a little longer…

