The Week from Hell…

I know it’s been an entire week without my blogging…so, I guess I better fill you in on my strange and upsetting week.

Monday, I went to the hospital for a physical and labs for my upcoming sinus surgery.  Got all the stuff done and went and visited with Mom (who was going out to lunch at her favorite restaurant by the water).

Came home to find a message from my doctor’s office asking me to please call.  I called – she asked me come back to redo a blood test.  I told her I would go ahead and come back (45 minutes one way) – since it was a pretty day out…

Got there and they immediately took me back – the nurse came in and stated that she needed to do a finger stick…and I was okay with that.  Then my doctor and the doctor who had seen me for the physical came in.  They asked if I was feeling okay…Yes;  Was I thirsty – Yes; A lot – well, yes…

Then they hit me with the news:  They told me that my blood sugar was 627.  And, that they needed to admit me to get things under control…and find out what was going on.

I had nothing with me – no bed clothes, no books, no KNITTING…so, I asked if I could run next door to the pharmacy that carries all that stuff…and they said yes – but to hurry.  They didn’t want me gone long.  I ran over – they had no interesting books – but, I got some cotton yarn to make a dishcloth.

The next two days were just a blur of tests and blood sugar checks and insulin – and to make a long story short I was allowed to come home late Wednesday afternoon.

At this point in time – they are saying that I am a diabetic…and I am testing my sugars twice a day and taking a medicine for it.

The only thing they can figure was that I might have been pre-diabetic and with all the Prednisome that I was taking and had taken in a short time – it just blew it right out!

Have been going from totally confused to not having any energy to not really having the spirit to do the things I like (blog, knit, quilt)…

Today is the first day that I have felt better – and I will be visiting with a diabetic educator this coming week.  I really need to do that – it will keep me from standing in the kitchen with my hands in the air and crying cause I am so damn confused about carbs, sugars, and servings. 

But, I will get this under control too…I always manage to get past all the challenges that come my way … this one just might take a little longer…

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. diane
    Apr 18, 2010 @ 18:22:17

    OMG…I am glad you have gotten to the bottom. My husband had an almost identical experience and was admitted with 600+ B.S. about 4 years ago. Since then he has had it controlled by pills.

    Take care Sara

  2. Rachel
    Apr 18, 2010 @ 18:33:10

    Oh wow. What a shock. I’m so glad this was discovered before something really awful happened. Take care of yourself!

  3. Stephanie
    Apr 18, 2010 @ 19:28:11

    Wow, what a week, glad you’re home 🙂 At least you weren’t in any pain and it sounds like with some medicine you’ll be able to get everything under control. It is hard to keep your spirits up when you feel challenged, but get out and visit friends and in no time you’ll feel yourself again. Thinking of you, take care.

  4. Janet
    Apr 18, 2010 @ 20:02:05

    Sara, I’m just glad to hear you’re ok! I have a friend who’s diabetic and I shared your post with her…maybe she’ll have some insight for you.

  5. Janet
    Apr 18, 2010 @ 21:04:30

    OMG! I’m so glad they found it and that you’re ok. I have a friend who just won’t deal with her diabetes and she passes out (in public) and has finally decided to stop driving! You are right to get some instructions and learn what you can.

  6. Pat
    Apr 18, 2010 @ 22:31:57

    You will find that there are more diabetics than you ever realized…and you will be able to take control and manage this very well…I’m sure. My husband has done well managing his. I’m glad you had the labs for the surgery….because otherwise this might not have been found until it was too late. The diabetic educators are wonderful and you will find that the eating plan is rather simple and is really nothing more than good common sense and we ALL should eat that way! So….don’t get overwhelmed…take it one step at a time and you will find it’s not as hard as you think.

  7. Tammy
    Apr 19, 2010 @ 00:25:40

    I’m so glad the found it before it got worse or you went into a coma. It’s scarey at first and frustrating as hell, I know because I’m diabetic as well. You will learn a lot at the educators office and it will help you a lot, I went through the education and thank god for it, it was a life saver. Take care of yourself and just take it one day at a time. You’re in my thoughts and prayers!!

  8. Jennifer
    Apr 19, 2010 @ 02:36:27

    Oh Sara…..how lucky you found out when you did. It’s not fun I know, but at least you will have help to deal with it.

  9. Sarah
    Apr 19, 2010 @ 07:39:47

    WOW! I’m glad you have answers, that’s always the best thing. It will get easier and less complicated and things will fal into place once you figure it out. Hugs!!

  10. Janet
    Apr 19, 2010 @ 13:23:00

    Wow. Lots of Janets here! I’m sorry to hear about your week. Did the drs. give any indication that if you stopped the pred, the diabetes would go away? I had to give my cat pred. for asthma and was told that diabetes might be a side effect, but I don’t know if it would have gone away. Sending lots of vibes for you to get this under control and back to a normal life! Sending hugs!

  11. Sandy
    Apr 19, 2010 @ 15:03:36

    Thank goodness they found it! It could have been so much worse. I’m glad you’re starting to feel better. When I was diagnosed with Celiac I remember having a little “mourning” phase for the things I could no longer eat. If you do experience it, it’s normal and soon, when you realize how much better you feel eating what you should, then you won’t (most of time to be honest) miss the old way.

  12. Pat
    Apr 19, 2010 @ 17:32:07

    Another thing to remember is….there is nothing you CANNOT eat as a diabetic…you just need to watch the amounts and keep track of carbohydrate intake. Some people think diabetics cannot eat certain things but that’s not true…..they just cannot eat as much of them as they had previously (or as much as they might like to eat). It’s another thing that we should ALL be doing…watching the amounts of things we eat. You know….everything in moderation.

  13. Michelle
    Apr 19, 2010 @ 21:10:28

    Wow what a shocking way to find out you are diabetic! I was diagnosed with diabetes in 2004 and have controlled it with pills and just recently a once a day insulin shot and I am sure that once you have had some time to meet with the nutritionist and get your mind around this all you will be doing great too!

    p.s. I was told about your blog by Janet (the fondofsnape one!)

  14. Vicki
    Apr 20, 2010 @ 09:51:50

    I’m glad they found this so you can get it controlled. I have a brother and a best friend who are diabetic and they manage very well through diet and oral meds. I wish you well!

  15. Debby
    Apr 21, 2010 @ 09:54:49

    Sara, I am so sorry, but I am glad they caught it in time. I would have hated for you to have passed out and possibly injured yourself, esp. while driving.

    Here are two things that might help:

    1)Sarah of Blue Garter blog’s husband has a website for managing diabetes. https://www.sweetspot.dm/ I think her husband’s father had a bad experience and so they started this to help people keep track of their foods.

    2)Karen, of Mostly Self-Taught Knitter blog, has had diabetes for a long time, and is plugged into lots of groups and tools that can help. Once you catch your breath and are ready to investigate some of these things, I’m sure having a community of people to talk to and vent to is going to be a huge help. There must be a Ravelry group too where you can ask questions of other people who are learning too. I’ll let Karen know about your situation.

    ((hugs))

  16. Karen
    Apr 21, 2010 @ 10:15:48

    Hi Sara. Debby sent me over to read your post. I’ve been living with Type 1 Diabetes for over 30 years. You can do this – whether you are Type 1 or Type 2 – you can do this!! I sucks sometimes, it’s hard sometimes . . . but other times, it’s just routine. One more thing like brushing your teeth or feeding the cat – just something you manage every day but at times don’t even need to think about.

    Did they test you for antibodies to be sure if you have Type 2 or Type 1? Many times, it is assumed a person has Type 2 if they are diagnosed as an adult, but that isn’t always the case.

    Please do email me if there is anything I can answer for you, anything I can help you with, or if you just want to connect with someone who understands. In addition to my knitting blog, I have a diabetes blog at http://bittersweet-karen.blogspot.com/ There are A TON of really great diabetes blogs out there, and if you are on Twitter there is a very active diabetes community that is great to tap into for support and information. And Debby is right, there is a group on Ravelry, Diabetic Knit and Crochet. Please do come join us!

  17. Tammy
    Apr 22, 2010 @ 19:49:32

    I’m so glad to hear you are doing well. The ADA has some great books on diabetes (ADA – American diabetes assoc) that are helpful too. Just take it one day at a time. You can also get the crystal light packets (no sugar, 6 calories) they really help jazz up water, I use 1 packet for a 32 oz water bottle I have as I like it diluted. Check out Sigg water bottles on amazon they’re awesome to put your filtered water in. I’m sorry to hear you’re having surgery, take good care of yourself, you’ll be in my thoughts and prayers!!

