It's Going Well…Surgery…

I am feeling much better after meeting with my diabetics educator!  She was wonderful.  My fears and concerns were met with knowledge and encouragement.

When I mentioned that I really hated things that had ingredients that I could not pronounce and weren’t “real” food – she said I didn’t have to use those…that I could work real foods in. 

I am drinking water – more water than I ever thought I would drink in my entire life has been consumed in the last week!  I have never liked water – it has no taste!  But, I will continue to drink it…

Bought myself one of those Pur water filter pitchers…and it eases my mind about better water.  I just don’t feel that I want to buy bottled water all the time.

Now I have to tell you this will be a learning experience but so far I am doing well and my blood sugars have been really good since I got home.

On Monday – I will be having my surgery!  Scarlett is coming down to stay that night and take me the next day to the doctor.  I will have her post on my blog that night!

Things may be a bit sporadic around here for a little while – but, I hope you will not give up on me…and that all of you will hang in there with me.

 

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stephanie
    Apr 22, 2010 @ 21:34:27

    Take care Sara, I’m thinking of you. Best wishes for a quick recovery from your surgery.

  2. Janet
    Apr 22, 2010 @ 22:04:26

    Never give up on you 🙂 Good luck!

  3. Pat
    Apr 22, 2010 @ 23:18:16

    We’ll be here! Take care of yourself and I’m glad the educator reassured you. Everything will be fine! (and soon you’ll also have no more sinus problems!!!) It’s all good….see???

  4. Jennifer
    Apr 23, 2010 @ 01:46:58

    Was just wondering how you were coping! You sound fairly upbeat, which is good.

  5. Janet
    Apr 23, 2010 @ 12:11:31

    Never fear….no one is giving up on you! I’m glad to hear your diabetes instructor was good and you’re learning what and what not to eat. I’m also glad you aren’t buying bottled water….all those empty bottles are bad for Mother Earth!

  6. Janet I.
    Apr 23, 2010 @ 19:37:16

    Sending vibes for a successful surgery. I’ll be thinking of you on Monday…

  7. Vicki
    Apr 23, 2010 @ 21:14:42

    I’m glad things are going well! Good luck with the surgery and may you heal quickly:)

  8. Pat
    Apr 26, 2010 @ 00:30:52

    Oh my goodness Sara! I read your last few posts and I’m so glad your diabetes got diagnosed before anything bad could happen. There are so many good ways to control diabetes these days and easy ways to monitor it so I’m sure you’ll do well and keep it under control. Good luck with your surgery –I will be thinking about you and will say prayers for your speedy recovery.

    Stop by when you can ..no stress! Take good care to rest and get all better!

    ♥ Pat

  9. Colleen
    Apr 26, 2010 @ 15:08:40

    Hope everything with your surgery goes perfectly, and you’re feeling better soon!!

  10. Debby
    Apr 26, 2010 @ 16:59:25

    Sara, so glad to hear you are feeling better about the diabetes diagnosis. I hope that everything goes well with your surgery and you are home very soon!

  11. Pat
    Apr 26, 2010 @ 21:37:37

    Just stopped by hoping to see an update from Scarlett here that you said she’d be making tonight. Hope it all went well.

