New Hampshire Sheep & Wool..

I had the most fun that one can have and still keep their clothes on this week-end at the New Hampshire Sheep and Wool Festival. 

Saturday, it was wild and rainy, but that did not deter Kristen, her mom and my friend, Laila, and her sister, Jennifer from having a great time.  Kristen was on a mission to find some fleeces to blend with the fleeces from her lovely little goats…and she did well.

Laila was totally involved with this darling little bunny.  He and his brother were for sale – and I heard from the vendor that both sold.   They are so soft and warm to hold.

We hung out until lunch was over – and I want you to know I was very good about what I had to eat and drink.  I checked some things out before I left to see the carb amounts – and knew what I could and could not have  — which unfortunately meant that the apple crisp was not on my list this year.

There were food vendors everywhere!  And, I sort of felt sorry for the ones selling ice cream and cold drinks only – cause it was really cold on Saturday and very windy on Sunday.

Saturday afternoon I went to help out a friend of mine at her booth.

Cindy does a beautiful job of dying her roving – it is Rommney.  I had such fun seeing people I knew both in real life, from blogging, and from Ravelry. 

The gang from my local yarn shop – HodgePodge Yarns – were set up right across the aisle from us.

Cindy’s husband, Jerry and Sue’s husband, Tom, spinning the afternoon away.

The auction is always a big thing!  You buy tickets – usually 6 for $5.00 – and the vendors donate a prize.   Each prize is numbered – and if you want to win that prize -you drop a ticket in – and hope they pull your ticket out.

I won two prizes from the auction this year…and I’ll tell you about them on Wednesday.

Friends are part of what the festival is about – sometimes it is the only time in a year that we will see each other…

It was wonderful to see my friend, Cheryl – and her beautiful little girl, Eloise…what a sweetie she is.  Cheryl looked wonderful and she and Eloise are so happy.  I just loved holding Eloise and seeing her smile…although after a few minutes she wanted her mommy.

This is Jeen with her new loom that she bought.  Jeen and I became friends on Ravelry – in the weaving group.  She has been so encouraging about my weaving – and we’ve gotten to know each other. 

Well, you can imagine my surprise – when she was at Cindy’s booth – I knew I knew her – and suddenly we both figured it out…it was so fun to meet her in person.  I also met her husband and her grandson.  She had been hopeing that she would meet at least one person from Ravelry – and had about given up cause it was close to the end of the festival.

It was a wonderful week-end!  And, yes, I did buy some yarn – and I won some yarn – but, I haven’t taken photos of them yet – so, I will show you on Wednesday.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tammy
    May 10, 2010 @ 17:38:46

    Gosh that looks like a great time – bad weather or not. I keep seeing all the fun yarns and thinking I should get someone to teach me to knit, I’m so intrigued by it all. And the yarns – they are so beautiful. Glad you are out and about and doing so well.

  2. Tammy
    May 10, 2010 @ 17:39:23

    Gosh that looks like a great time – bad weather or not. I keep seeing all the fun yarns and thinking I should get someone to teach me to knit, I\’m so intrigued by it all. And the yarns – they are so beautiful. Glad you are out and about and doing so well.

  3. Carole
    May 10, 2010 @ 18:39:57

    I’m so glad we saw you!

  4. Pat
    May 10, 2010 @ 19:12:29

    I’m glad you got to meet some people you’d only known online. What fun that is!!!

  5. Stephanie
    May 10, 2010 @ 19:27:17

    What fun! How nice that you got to meet some bloggers and ravelry friends. Sounds like a perfect weekend. Looking forward to seeing your yarn 🙂

