Colors of June…

Sue over at Life Looms Large hosts the Colors of the month – and since it is June – this would be the Colors of June…

My June offering is of my garden…This is the first garden that I have attempted on my own.  I admit my neighbor helped me by showing me how to turn the earth and plant some things…but, mostly, I’ve been doing the garden by myself. 

I simple cannot believe how much work this little garden is – I have been weeding a lot lately!  But, I cannot believe how much I would love it…I find that sitting in the dirt and pulling weeds and watching my little plants come up is extremely rewarding.

This is my basil – something besides me likes it.  You can see the holes in the leaves.

Beans

Broccoli

Butternut Squash

Cabbage

gourds

One of my lettuce plants

A tomato (!) with basil plant in background – my other tomato plant has a tomato, too.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pat
    Jun 26, 2010 @ 17:54:13

    You have a nice variety! I hate it when critters eat the plants OR eat the items as they are getting close to harvest. 😦

  2. Jennifer
    Jun 26, 2010 @ 19:27:16

    Wow, that’s quick! Seems like it was only yesterday you planted your garden, and look at it now.

  3. OldOldLady Of The Hi
    Jun 26, 2010 @ 19:28:27

    CONGRATS on your sweet lovely Garden! Here’s hoping that everything yeilds some yummy goodies!

    Thanks so much for the Happy Birthday wishes..And please wish your daughter a Gappy Birthday from me, too! Good people are born on June 27th…(lol)!

  4. OldOldLady Of The Hi
    Jun 26, 2010 @ 19:28:49

    CONGRATS on your sweet lovely Garden! Here\’s hoping that everything yeilds some yummy goodies!

    Thanks so much for the Happy Birthday wishes..And please wish your daughter a Gappy Birthday from me, too! Good people are born on June 27th…(lol)!

  5. lori
    Jun 26, 2010 @ 21:39:55

    WOW! It’s looking so good! It does seem like you just planted the seeds, that’s pretty amazing.

  6. Sharon
    Jun 27, 2010 @ 00:23:47

    I popped over here from Sue’s blog and I must say that green is an awesome color, and even better if everything lives. That’s what we’re thinking. Plus I really do wear green, almost all of the time and I’m not Irish!

  7. Sharon
    Jun 27, 2010 @ 00:24:09

    I popped over here from Sue\’s blog and I must say that green is an awesome color, and even better if everything lives. That\’s what we\’re thinking. Plus I really do wear green, almost all of the time and I\’m not Irish!

  8. cindy
    Jun 27, 2010 @ 06:35:19

    You need to plant some marigolds next to your tomatoes and basil and a couple of nasturtiums with your beans and squash/gourds. That will help keep the bugs at bay naturally.

  9. gemma
    Jun 27, 2010 @ 07:51:42

    You have more than just green thumbs. Check out the rest of the hand. Great growing Sara!

  10. Life Looms Large
    Jun 27, 2010 @ 08:21:39

    Green certainly is a great color for June!! Thanks for sharing your colors!

    Weeding is the bane of my summer existence. I’m so bad about it. This year has been great for plants, even for weeds.

    Hope your garden produces for you!! I’m not a good vegetable gardener. I inevitably give up at some point in the summer and the bugs/weeds win.

    Thanks for sharing your colors!

    Sue

    PS: The NH Weavers Guild has a used loom list. They might have table looms on it. It’s available at our meetings or through our newsletter. (Just prodding you to come check out the guild! It meets in Concord, NH the third Wednesday of Sept, Oct, Nov, March, April and May.)

  11. Janet
    Jun 27, 2010 @ 11:51:01

    Your garden looks great! And how nice to be able to eat fresh veggies from it later on this summer. There’s nothing like a home grown tomato!!

  12. Leigh
    Jun 27, 2010 @ 22:36:55

    I love green! I always focus on flowers for my color of the month, but really, green is queen when it comes to summer color.

  13. diane
    Jun 28, 2010 @ 10:53:17

    Happy Birthday to your daughter; you both look great Sara

  14. Tina T-P
    Jun 29, 2010 @ 02:52:33

    Ah, another “northern” garden – Will you make pesto with your basil? T.

  15. weaverannie
    Jun 29, 2010 @ 06:43:46

    How brave to start gardening and planting so many diferent vegetables! Gardening can be very rewarding indeed,and even weeding can be fun – especially after it’s done!

  16. weaverannie
    Jun 29, 2010 @ 06:44:20

    How brave to start gardening and planting so many diferent vegetables! Gardening can be very rewarding indeed,and even weeding can be fun – especially after it\’s done!

