The Simple Woman’s Daybook

FOR TODAY: August 9, 2010

Outside my window… the sky is darkening and night is falling. I keep wishing that cooler weather will be around the corner.
I am thinking… that I should have given Scarlett information so she could see if she could find my aunt while she is on a business meeting in Twin Falls, Idaho.
I am thankful for… the lives of two friends who passed away this week. They were such strong role models…and they will be missed.
From the learning rooms…(if this applies) I am still working on my weaving and learning a bit more. But, the quilting has taken over and I’ve taken one class over the last three weeks – and working on a mystery quilt for the next four weeks.
From the kitchen… Am trying to getting back to cooking like I used to … making nice meals for myself. The diabeties threw me into a tailspin – but, now it is time to get organized and get cooking again.

I am wearing… a pair of shorts and an old t-shirt (extra large) and socks. The doctor says I have to wear socks all the time…so that they protect my feet.
I am creating… a gorgeous knit shawl – made from hand-dyed and handspun yarn. The color is turquoise and when I get a little more done I’ll post a photo.
I am going… to see Mother tomorrow and have the final appointment with my nose surgeon!

I am reading… The Red Thread by Ann Hood. This is one of the best books I’ve read in a long while. Actually, I’ve been on an Ann Hood kick for about a month or so. Her books are wonderful! Her characters stay with you and you feel like you know them. This is her latest book…
I am hoping… that I get the all clear from my surgeon tomorrow!

I am hearing… the television in the background…An old Without A Trace is on. I wonder why that show just disappeared from network television! It was really a good show.
Around the house… there are a few things that need to get done – dishes and laundry – especially since we didn’t have any water in the building today from early this morning until after 3:30 PM.
One of my favorite things… is spending a day each week at the knit shop and at the quilt shop. It makes my week go fast…and I learn and manage to get a lot done.
A few plans for the rest of the week: getting the house cleaned up; finishing a pair of socks that I am knitting; and reading.
Here is picture for thought I am sharing…

Beautiful day lilies from a day lily garden in Bethlehem, New Hampshire.

You can read and participate with your own daybook at

The Simple Woman’s Daybook

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stephanie
    Aug 09, 2010 @ 21:35:37

    It’s hard sometimes to get into cooking, especially when it’s hot out.

  2. Pat
    Aug 09, 2010 @ 23:30:51

    Nicely done, Sara. I have seen this prompt on other blogs and always want to do it and then forget.
    There are so many good fresh summer vegetables for sale now — I’m sure you’ll be inspired to cook some!

  3. Jennifer
    Aug 10, 2010 @ 01:23:07

    Such pretty flowers! I must check if my local library has any books by Ann Hood.

  4. Janet
    Aug 10, 2010 @ 12:38:27

    I’m sorry to hear about your friends that passed…both in the same week! Sigh…

