The Move…

I am beginning to think that no move is easy…and while I was totally prepared and ready to make a move – it is still stressful!

But, I am loving living in my new building – actually it is more like a little neighborhood.  We have eighty apartments here. 

Have been clearly taking my time with the unpacking – it is a lot to figure out and I don’t want to be re-doing things.  I only want to do it once!  So am thinking through where I want my furniture and things.

The other part that I am enjoying since moving here has been the daily lunches – it means I get a well-balance meal and not have to worry about cooking while in the midst of unpacking.  The building here makes the meals for Meals on Wheels – and offers a congregate lunch meal for seniors and their friends for a donation of $2.00. 

And, in the evenings I spend an hour or two downstairs in the lobby area with some knitters.  It has given me the opportunity to relax a bit before going to bed.

Now it is time to go unpack some more…

Later…

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pat
    Oct 17, 2010 @ 12:15:41

    It sounds so wonderful. You are very fortunate that you got into such a great place!

  2. Janet
    Oct 17, 2010 @ 13:46:16

    It sounds like you’ve found a wonderful new home. How nice to have other knitters to sit with in the evenings. I know you’ll be very happy once you get all settled.

  3. anna
    Oct 17, 2010 @ 14:35:31

    It sounds like you found the perfect place for you Sara- It is important to live in a place that you are comfortable.
    There is no rush to get everything unpacked – that will get done in time too.
    Warmest regards,
    Anna

  4. Rachel
    Oct 17, 2010 @ 18:34:43

    Nice! I’m so glad you’re enjoying the new apartment and all its benefits. I hope you find a lovely, welcoming family there (and it sounds like you might already have done just that).

    No rush with the unpacking, right? It’s your place, so you want to get things just the way YOU like them!

  5. Dorothy
    Oct 17, 2010 @ 19:36:40

    Sara — your new place sounds like a dream come true for you. Enjoy!
    Best wishes in your new place, and yes take your time unpacking, you have many years to come in your happy new place.
    Dorothy

  6. Jennifer
    Oct 17, 2010 @ 21:49:00

    Moving is stressful, so anything to make it less so is good. We moved nearly six months ago and I need to re-organise some things that I wasn’t sure about when we first unpacked……but that will come. Sounds as though you have moved to the ideal place!

  7. Susan
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 08:39:41

    Sounds like a great place for you Sara. I’d love for someone to cook a meal for me every day. Bliss!

  8. Kym
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 17:49:03

    Oh, Sara! It sounds divine! Take your time with the unpacking. It can be very stressful. Just go at it on your own pace — and enjoy your new surroundings!

  9. Anita Boutilier
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 18:55:55

    Hi Sara, So glad you are settling in just fine! And fellow knitters is great! We miss you at Quilting, so will look forward to your return. Hope kitty is adjusting well also….hope to see you soon,thoughts are with you! hugs, Anita

  10. Stephanie
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 22:03:47

    Wow what a great little community you have found! Your little knitting group sounds like lots of fun. Glad you are doing well and enjoying your new surroundings.

  11. Leigh
    Oct 26, 2010 @ 06:36:22

    I definitely agree with no move being easy. I still can’t find stuff and we’ve been here for a year and a half! Sounds like the move was a good decision though, and will be well worth the chore of packing and unpacking.

