Knitting…and More Knitting…

There has been knitting – and lots of it since I moved into my new apartment complex.  It doesn’t hurt that a few of us get together each evening to knit – which just means we get more done…

This is the first shawl I knit for myself.  The yarn is the hand dyed, hand spun yarn that Cindy gave me for helping with her booth at NH S&W – and that Linda spun for me.  The yarn is 100% Romney.

I liked the pattern so much that I knit one for Elizabeth for Christmas.  It is made with Lion Brand Wool-Ease in Rose Heather.  She really liked it!

Then, I made another one – thinking I would give it as a gift – but, haven’t yet.  It is made out of Red Heart – in the Dark Spruce colorway.  I have someone in mind for this and I know that she can’t wear wool – and it can be machine washed and dried.

Mom’s Christmas present was this shawl that I knit for her out of Lion Brand Homespun.  It is warm and can be washed in those heavy-duty machines they have at the nursing home without it getting messed up.

So, it seems that the end of 2010 was busy with my knitting a lot of shawls – and I loved knitting each one.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stephanie McCane
    Jan 06, 2011 @ 22:57:44

    beautiful shawls! I love the pattern.

  2. Pat
    Jan 07, 2011 @ 00:25:13

    The shawls are very nice. I’m sure your mom was very happy with that gift!

  3. Jennifer
    Jan 07, 2011 @ 01:50:39

    Lovely shawls! Is the pattern on Ravelry?

  4. Dave Daniels
    Jan 07, 2011 @ 08:07:10

    Such wonderful knitting! I’m so happy that you’ve got such a wonderful and inspirational knitting group at your new place. SO lucky.

  5. Janet
    Jan 07, 2011 @ 12:48:19

    and I bet the people who received one loved it too!

  6. Janet
    Jan 07, 2011 @ 13:45:30

    The shawls are all so beautiful and I’m sure they keep the recipients warm and snuggly. How nice that you have a group of women to knit with in the evenings. That sounds like fun.

  7. Lori
    Jan 07, 2011 @ 14:01:03

    good heavens, woman! you are a knitting FO machine!! they’re really beautiful. 🙂 how lucky, to have a built-in knitting circle.

  8. Life Looms Large
    Jan 07, 2011 @ 20:19:25

    A knitting circle right in your new home….awesome!!! You’re really producing lots and lots of beautiful stuff right now. You go!

    Sue

  9. Rachel
    Jan 07, 2011 @ 21:54:08

    Your shawls are beautiful, Sara. The one you made for your mom looks so nice and warm. What lovely gifts!

  10. Dorothy
    Jan 07, 2011 @ 22:12:43

    The shawls are gorgeous!

