President’s Day…

He was president when I was born…

A middle-aged Caucasian male wearing a dark business suit and wireframe glasses is depicted smilingly pensively at the camera in a black-and-white photo.

He was the president of my childhood…

He was the president who motivated me and an entire generation…and taught us about politics.

Then there was Lyndon B. Johnson; Richard Nixon; Gerald Ford;  and

He was the President who I felt could relate to those of us who weren’t rich:

Then we had the movie actor, Ronald Reagan; George H. W. Bush; Bill Clinton; and,

The president I disliked the most:

A portrait shot of a smiling older male looking straight ahead. He has short gray hair, and is wearing a dark navy blazer with a blue styled tie over a white collared shirt. In the background is an American flag hanging from a flagpole.

And, he is the president that motivated me to believe again:  Our current President…

A portrait shot of a serious looking middle-aged African-American male (Barack Obama) looking straight ahead. He has short black hair, and is wearing a dark navy blazer with a blue striped tie over a light blue collared shirt. In the background are two flags hanging from separate flagpoles: an American flag, and one from the Executive Office of the President.

In my sixty-five years, there have been twelve presidents who have served my country.  Whether I liked them or not – they at least deserved to be respected for holding our country’s highest office.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Janet
    Feb 21, 2011 @ 13:24:31

    I agree about the respect but it was sure tough for me to do that with “W”….

  2. Leigh
    Feb 21, 2011 @ 22:33:22

    I think respect is key. Not necessarily for the man if we don’t agree with his policies, but at least for the office.

