Ten On Tuesday…

My friend, Carole, came up with a wonderful topic for Ten on Tuesday…

10 Books You Would Recommend to a Friend

Okay, You know I love to read – I love the feel of a book in my hands and exploring the world through a book…it is just part of me.  I read for pleasure – oh, there are times I read to learn more – but for the most part I read for the sheer enjoyment of it.

So, here are some books I would recommend…

1)  Gone With the Wind – by Margaret Mitchell.  This is one of my favorite all time books.  I manage to read it every few years…Yes, I know what happens – but there is just a magic about that book.

2)  A Woman of Independent Means – by Elizabeth Forsyth Hailey.  Another book that just blows me away.  It gets re-read every now and then.

3)  Rainwater – by Sandra Brown.  I really liked this book – and it totally surprised me.

4.  The Map of True Places – by Brunonia Barry.  Another book that caught me by surprise. 

5.  Somewhere Off the Coast of Maine – by Ann Hood.  Okay, anything by Ann Hood.  I really like her books and I’ve read all but two.  They are on my to be read list.

6.  A Reliable Wife – by Robert Goolrick.  Very good book…very strange…

7.  The Girl Who Chased the Moon – by Sarah Addison Allen.  Okay, this is another author that I’ve read all her books and I can’t find one that I didn’t love…

8)  The Handmaid’s Tale – by Margaret Atwood.  Okay, this one made me think – and wonder – and it sort of made me feel “this could happen”…

9)  The Women’s Murder Club books – by James Patterson  – There are ten of them – and I couldn’t pick one over the other.  I enjoyed them all.

10)  The Sisterhood Series – by Fern Michaels.  I can’t remember how many books are in the series – but, they are all good – and entertaining.  Nothing heavy.

So, what book would you recommend to me?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Janet
    Jun 21, 2011 @ 23:18:45

    I’m reading some of Kate Wilhelm’s courtroom mysteries and really like them. So far I’ve read A Wrongful Death; Heaven is High; Skeletons: Clean & Convincing Proof; and Cold Case. I also just read The Calling by Inger Ash Wolfe and Taken by the same author….a little gruesome in places but overall good stories.

  2. Pat
    Jun 21, 2011 @ 23:43:11

    I like your list, Sara! There are a few i ahven’t read that I will now have to look for.

    I’ve like most of Elizabeth Berg’s books and many of Anita Shreve’s. Lately I’ve been re-reading Jane Austen.

    Thanks for entering my HomeGoods gift card give away!

  3. Debby
    Jun 22, 2011 @ 11:20:44

    You have a few books I haven’t heard of on your list that sound interesting. I will have to check them out! The women’s murder books sound especially interesting.

    Summer is such a great time to read, isn’t it? I love to take books to the beach and just relax with the waves.

  4. tammy
    Jun 22, 2011 @ 11:59:38

    I just finished a really great book called A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness that I really enjoyed. Like you Ann Hood, Sarah Addison Allen and the Sisterhood series by Fern Micheal are all favorites of mine. I also enjoy the light, but fun Janet Evanovich Stephanie Plum series. They are all numbered, first is One for the money and she just released number seventeen. They’re fun and quick reads. One of my all time favorite books that just enchanted me was The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton. That is a book I think you’d really enjoy. Thanks for the list, fun to see what you like to read!!

  5. Rachel
    Jun 22, 2011 @ 23:39:23

    I would recommend Water for Elephants. It has the most satisfying ending of any book I’ve ever read. Also, The Deafening – very good!

    For non-fiction, The Immortal Life of Henriette Lacks was excellent.

