Monday…

Today was spent at a birthday party this afternoon.  It was for Jimmy – one of the residents here.  He served some really good lasagna … and a few people brought some covered dishes – so there was plenty to eat along with cake and ice cream.  His mother made the cake and she is an awesome baker.  My gift was a nice skein of wool yarn – in a chunky weight and size 11 needles – 16 inch circulars so he can make himself a hat.  He loves to knit…

Then tonight was my Cornish Quilter Guild – it was fun to get back to the group.  I haven’t been attending the meetings lately…but am back there too.

We had a fat quarter exchange – you could bring up to 10 – and then we went around the table and got to pick one (each of us in turn) until we had picked one for each one that we brought…I took eight – so, I got eight new fat quarters!  It’s a great way to get new fabric without spending any money…(If you use your stash to pick the fat quarters that you take!!!!)

It was fun to see some old friends – and enjoyed the evening…plus there was a bonus – one of our members, Cathy, just had a baby eight weeks ago – and she brought Daniel by to see us.  He’s adorable!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer
    Sep 27, 2011 @ 03:00:10

    Sounds as though you had a great day and evening! My grandfather could knit – I believe he taught his wife, my grandmother to knit.

  2. Dave Daniels
    Sep 28, 2011 @ 21:33:01

    My gosh, I miss having a fabric stash! Just the idea of having enough fabrics on hand to be able to swap…I’m rather envious!

