My library…

I love my library!  Fiske Free Library is our city library.  It’s not huge – but, they always seem to have the current books and movies.  I’ve been President of the Friends of the Library for the past couple of years. 

The Friends sponsor a monthly craft day which is open to anyone – no age limit…And, today was the craft day.  The kids who came got to make two projects.  One was to decorate a tee-shirt by putting leaves on it and then spray painting the shirt – so that the area under the leaves would be left white.  They turned out really cute!  I could have made one but to be honest I totally forgot about that part of the day.

Mainly, I forgot because the second part was to make a terrarium.  I have always wanted to make one.  So today, I showed up with my empty jar.  Picked one up at WallyWorld for under $5.00.  The soil and plants were free as well as the instruction.  The kids got to make little pots with the plants as most of them didn’t bring jars.  Those pots were also free. 

So, this is me making my terrarium…

Boy, I didn’t realize my hair is that gray…that’s okay – I like it…there I am putting the plants into the ground.

Feels good to dig in the dirt!!!

The finished products – my pretty terrarium and two small pots of pretty little plants.  It was a fun day!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer
    Sep 29, 2011 @ 02:05:07

    Hadn’t thought of making a terrarium! That would make it easy to grow plants that don’t like our dry inland climate. Thank you for the great idea!

  2. Carole
    Sep 29, 2011 @ 05:29:24

    How fun! And good for you for supporting your library, too.

  3. Pat
    Sep 29, 2011 @ 06:42:08

    I had a terrarium once in my other house…maybe I’ll do one again. Our library system in Delaware is terrific…….they are all linked and you can pretty much request anything and they get it. AND….you can do requests and even renewals online from your computer at home, which is wonderful for those of us with computers!!! Nice pictures of you!!!

