Asthma…

Yesterday, I missed posting – but I have to say I was not feeling well! 

Went with a friend of mine to the Senior Center here in town to play a few games of Bingo.  While I was there, I was smelling something – but – it wasn’t affecting my breathing much.  At least that’s what I thought until I got home.  About half an hour after getting home – I couldn’t breathe very well – ended up using my rescue and later my nebulizer. 

Seems that they changed carpeting over at the Center and the stench of it really got me. 

Won’t be going back there any time soon!!!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pat
    Oct 13, 2011 @ 22:02:13

    I’m glad you didn’t end up in the ER with breathing problems. Take it slow for a few days so you can fully recover.

  2. Jennifer
    Oct 13, 2011 @ 23:27:56

    Oh – that’s not so good. Will the carpet smell settle down in time? Makes life hard if you have to avoid buildings you may need to use.

  3. folkcat
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 02:54:36

    Absolutely, if they put in new carpet, the fumes need airing out before you should be around them again. I would have had the same problem as you did.

    I’ve been dealing with my breathing issues since the mid-80’s. I’ve learned to excuse myself as quickly and politely as I can when I smell such things. Waiting until you have a reaction, or staying for the duration of whatever activity you’re there for, means you’ve waited too long.

    I sometimes am aware of exposure, and then don’t have a reaction until a day later. Like the time someone in the supermarket smelled so strongly from cigarette smoke that they left the stench behind them in the aisles! I had no other exposures to triggers in the next 24 hours, but had an attack the next afternoon.

    I’m glad you’re all right. Pay attention, and when in doubt, remove yourself from the triggers!

