Hello, March…

This February was one of the worst months I’ve had in a long time.  I think I only had a few good days – and they came toward the end of the month when I went to SPA…(A knitting, spinning, weaving long week-end in Freeport, Maine).

My 66th birthday kicked my butt!  I have no idea why – other than suddenly I was feeling old!  65 came and went with no real drama – but not 66! 

It’s not that it was a bad day – some of my friends here gave me a nice birthday party; my daughter called and sent me a lovely birthday card; and I heard from a lot of friends…it was clearly just the age!  

Then the 17th my sweet baby girl, Isis Dreamweaver, went to doggie heaven.  That really broke my heart.  I remember getting her – a trail of doggie treats lead me to her standing at the edge of the bathtub.  She had the longest ears – and I wondered how that little dog was going to grow up big enough to fill out those ears.

She was the one who at six months old stood in between me and a wolf hybrid that had escaped from his yard (scaling a six-foot fence) –  until I (along with Scarlett) was close enough to the house to get inside. 

She was my baby – and when I could not have a dog in my apartment – she lived with Scarlett, Elizabeth and her doggie brother, Zac.  She and Zac were inseparable…

So, the month of February is gone – and good riddance!  On to March and an entire new outlook on life and living … living my life to the fullest!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. folkcat
    Mar 01, 2012 @ 23:54:09

    Much love, Sara, and it’s so good to hear from you. I’m sorry about your baby girl Isis, she sounds like she was part and parcel of your heart.

  2. fayzer2
    Mar 02, 2012 @ 00:15:41

    I’m think about you tonight, Sara. I am so sorry you lost your girl. We only have our babies for a short time. I know it isn’t easy. We lost our Cabo, our white boxer, in February too.

  3. Jennifer
    Mar 02, 2012 @ 02:10:11

    Isis Dreamweaver looks like a lovely girl – it is very sad that she’s not around any more, and I am sorry. Sounds as though March will be the start of spring for you, and the start of a new year. On looking it up I found that the new year used to start on March 25 in England, until 1751.

  4. Janet
    Mar 02, 2012 @ 13:13:51

    I’m so sorry to hear about Isis Dreamweaver’s passing 😦 And that Feb was so tough for you. 66!!! I thought you were in your 50s LOL! You wear it well, my friend.

