Working my way back…

It has been a tough few months…I will admit it.  I miss my mother terribly.  And, it was hard because the rest of my family is so far away.

But, worse was the fact that I felt for a while like I had lost all my purpose in life…my purpose was to take care of her –  and then she was gone.  But, I am coming around.

My daughter, Tara, has reminded me that this is the first time in my life that I don’t have to be responsible for anyone…other than myself.  So, I am learning how to think about myself more.

One of the things I am doing is reclaiming my space…and working on finishing up my apartment to be the way I want it to be.  I feel if I say something here on my blog then I will be more responsible to getting it finished up.

Knitting has been a stabilizer for me – and I am glad Spring is here and I can be more faithful in attending Mental Health Tuesday at HodgePodge – my local knit shop- and enjoy a day just to sit and knit with friends each week.

My quilting has suffered – and I am ready again to reclaim my quilting space and hopefully get my mojo back…

 So, here we go … the next step in my life…

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pat
    May 02, 2013 @ 22:37:33

    yes….take the chance now to do things just for YOU! You certainly deserve it at this point in your life.

  2. Jeanette Purvis
    May 02, 2013 @ 23:26:40

    Sorry to hear of your struggle with the loss of your mom. I remember how close you were. I lost my mother about 2 years ago now, and I still have days when I don’t think that I can stand not being able to call her or go visit. It’s such a lonely feeling isn’t it? I am glad to hear from you, though and I wish you well, Sally. Blessings, Jeanette Purvis

  3. Jennifer
    May 03, 2013 @ 07:57:31

    Sara, grief doesn’t have a timetable. Be gentle with yourself and remember, while you will always miss your mother, it does get easier over time. How about making a project to honour your mum?

  4. skadrie
    May 03, 2013 @ 10:07:06

    I’ve also been missing my father terribly. Jennifer is right, your grief if yours and it takes as long as it takes.

    Yay for making time for you. You are important and you deserve your full attention. Can’t wait to see what you do, be sure to post pics and progress, k?

  5. skadrie
    May 03, 2013 @ 10:09:03

    I miss my terribly, I so know where you are. And Jennifer is right, grief doesn’t have a timetable. Your grief is yours and it takes as long as it takes. Yay for you taking time for yourself – you deserve it! Be sure to post pics and progress reports!

  6. janet
    May 03, 2013 @ 11:34:33

    I know, it’s strange to have all the time in the world now…but you use it to do things you love! and soon you’ll love that 🙂 Your Mom would be happy!

