Project Spectrum…

It has been ages since I participated in Project Spectrum.  Project Spectrum is the brainchild of my friend, Lolly!  And, since it’s been ages since I participated – then you know it has been ages since I’ve visited her blog.  It’s nice to be back there and seeing all the things that have been happening with her and her family.

Project Spectrum runs from May to November with each month having a color or two to focus on…What I love about it is that you start looking at the world differently – you look at color…

Here is the schedule:

2011 Project Spectrum
May – November

May :: Red/Orange
June :: Green
July :: Blue/Indigo
August :: Pink/Purple
September :: Yellow/Metallics
October :: Cyan/Aqua
November :: Black/White/Grey

So, May is Red and Orange – and it looks like I am just sliding in under the wire…with a small offering –

I love RED – ORANGE – not so much!  But, today while out in the patio area of my building I saw the most beautiful flowers – and they are orange…

I think they are a hibiscus – or a breed thereof.  (You can tell I’m not much of a gardener!)

I have to say that is gorgeous!!!

Red happens to be one of my favorite colors … partly because I look good in it – especially now that my hair has some grey to it!  I used to have a really pretty red suit that I would wear to work every now and then…as a matter of fact, that suit got me one of my jobs when I wore it to an interview when I lived in Tennessee.

This past month I have been knitting up some hats – trying to get ready for a craft fair in November and want to have a little stock on hand.  Guess what – two of the hats I knit were red!  There are so many shades of red…the hat on the left is not quite the red I like.  It is pretty but doesn’t exactly blow my skirt up…

Now the hat on the right – that’s a red I can really love!  It is a deep gorgeous red.  It has depth.  It sings to me… t makes me happy…

So there you have my offering for the beginning of Project Spectrum!!!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pat
    May 31, 2011 @ 07:25:31

    What a fun thing to do…focus on a color each month. I am not 100% certain, but those orange flowers look like the deciduous azaleas we once had in our house in NJ. If the flowers are gone soon, then that is what they are. If the flowers stay all summer, then it’s not any type of azalea.

  2. Kym
    May 31, 2011 @ 15:13:17

    Lovely blooms, Sara! And wonderful red hats, too. Project Spectrum is such fun — I’m excited to see what you find inspiring. . . across the Spectrum! 🙂

  3. Janet
    May 31, 2011 @ 23:09:09

    I like your color choices for red and orange. I did the Project Spectrum one year and had a lot of fun.

  4. Paul
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 23:43:17

    This is a great idea – I may have to think about this to help get rid of some of my stash. Your hats are awesome!